No one gets to sleep in

It is 7.04 am and already the dogs are tired.  We don’t even know what time they got up–but it was at the crack of dawn when all three dogs started whining.  There is no sleeping in for parents of puppies and dogs.  

Bridget has a Kong that Bella my parents dog has brought her.  It’s a bit too big for her mouth and she is spending minutes–yes precious minutes–trying to pick up.  The other dogs are rolling in the cold wet grass.  Gray skies and lots of mud add to the general gloominess of the moment.  Mom brings me a very welcomed cup of coffee since I am the current designated dog sitter.  Bridget is so small  she can easily get lost, get eaten, fall in the streams,  or do any other stupid young animal type stunt.

It’s cold, gray, and yet puppy therapy is working.  I get up to kee an eye on where the dogs are and see some daffodils poking there heads up at the edge of the lawn.  From inside the warm house, I hear laughter.  My mom says that those kongs are Bella’s most prized possessions.  Every night she gets one during cocktail hour — a long standing ritual at Brindejjon.   The sun is going down, the world is beautiful for a couple of moments of peace and loveliness.  It’s a wonderful time of the evening to enjoy a glass of wine some cheese and crackers. Or if you are a dog,enjoy a Kong with dog treats frozen inside.

It’s 7.35 am and Bridget just went into the barn.  Time to get up and see where she’s going.  Five minutes later, I’m back blogging again. We have a pack of filthy disgusting dogs, covered in Mud.  Already my nice clean clothes are covered in mud from Dogs. It’s too early to shower them, so I’ll sit outside and enjoy being watching them play.  I think the puppy just learned how to bark.  Short high pitched little barks as she chases Bella.  I’m blessed, it’s like being able to see a child’s first steps.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “No one gets to sleep in”

  1. What a beautiful essay. So well written. I feel like I am there experiencing the joy and wonderment of each moment. Well done, Robine!

Leave a Reply

