Cats and the importance of sleep

For the last few days, I have been working the worlds worst shift — 11 pm to 7 am.  Why–because the job needs to be done and I didn’t duck fast enough.  Tedious work, auditing computer systems for security protocols– did they set up the user accounts correctly, are the routers turned on , and other fascinating questions to be answered. Anyway I get home about 8 am, a tired exhausted wretch. Have breakfast and go to bed.  Sleep all day, get up have dinner and go to work.  I feel empathy for those who have to work different shifts on a regular basis, it’s hard.

But cats love this schedule.  Someone to sleep with 24 hours a day.  And they do sleep most of that time.  We have three cats. You only hear about two of them, because the oldest cat, Sally, lives in a laundry basket.  It has an electric blanket that she adores.  Since it has an 8 hour switch, we are constantly flipping the switch on for her.  Constant refrain is “did you turn on the cat?”  Even today, she spent the day in her laundry basket instead of the bead.  She spends about an hour on a nice sunny day outside, and then it’s back to bed for her.

Now Sophie and Charlie are more than willing to sleep with me on the bed.  Charlie however has limits to the amount he can sleep, waking me up about 1 pm to let him out of the bedroom.  Charlie has a routine, he needs to patrol the yard and make sure all is well in his territory.  He also loves to go play outside with Elly, follow Bob around as he does chores and generally has an active social life in the neighborhood.

Sophie is a trooper, sleeping under the covers with me all day long.  While I’m at work, she splits her night between Kate and Bob.  Guess she’s an old lady.  But more than anything,, she is a Dagon cat.  She defends her right to sleep on the bed with any and all humans.  I’m the top priority.  If I’m around.  She’s next to me.  And woe betide any cat or dog that tries to approach.  That cat can bevicious.  Even the puppy is painfully learning this fact.  And when there are no humans, she curls up with Charlie the cat.


Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Cats and the importance of sleep”

Leave a Reply

