Cat treat time

In our house there s a tradition of feeding the cats special food at night. An end of the day ritual, this event begins with the cry “All right, Sally, Sophie, Charlie”.  At the first word “All” chaos explodes in the house.  Charlie starts running around with an up tail, crying and rubbing against my leg.  Sophie waunders around and Sally begins sauntering out at a measured pace.  The Dogs have a role in this ritual.  Both need to go outside while the cats get their food.  And they wait.


Most nights, all three cats eat rapidly.  First one done often goes to help the next one finish.  Last night that was Sophie helping Sally.  Since Sally didn’t appreciate the help, there was a small altercation.  The dogs waiting eagerly outside hear the noise and they begin whining.  “Can’t we come in now?”


Eventually the time arrives, dogs get their chance to lick the plates.  Bridget is so excited she can’t figure out where to start.  So she races in circles, putting her feet on all the plates.  All cats scatter, leaving the plates to the dogs.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Cat treat time”

Leave a Reply

