Catching Up — Busy Lives

The last few weeks have been intense stress filled days.  Good Days, but even good things come with stress.  Big thing, I am now in my third job of the year.  This one it totally different type of engineering.  So over the course of the last few months, I went from being the queen of SHALLS under the worst boss ever to being a coder and then joining a cyber security team.  Same company, different bosses, different buildings, different tasks, different teams.  It turns out I don’t blog well with that kind of stress. But now that life is calming down, the blog should resume with more stories about the cats, the dog, and life about vista.  

It was easy to move from the first job to the second job.  I was bored and hated working for a miromanaging bully who’s goal in life was making me cry.  Plus I didn’t get much choice, management offered me up to the new team.  But there I hadto change tasks.  I hadn’t coded professionally for over 20+ years and these were new languages.  Scary stuff. But it turned out to be a great team, good management, and I got the chance to work with some fun women (first time in my career).  I think the job tasking could have evolved into something I would enjoy.

But a few weeks into the new job, another job offer appeared.  Somewhat unexpected, it was something I had been trying to break into for a couple years.  Every month or two, I would call this guy (now my new boss) and ask if there were any possible job’s for me.  “Hi, this is your friendly nag notice.  Do you have anything coming up?”  So when the opportunity to interview came up, I took it.  And got the job.  But that meant leaving a great team and possible new job for something unknown.  Plus leaving behind my women friends….now I’m only working with a lot of older men.

It was surprising to me how stressful that decision was.  Leaving a bad job with little choice about the move is scary.  It’s hard to walk into a job not knowing anyone or even what you are going to do.  But it is much harder when you leave a good job with great co-workers and move to something totally unknown.  Every day, the indecision would arise “Am I doing the right thing?”.  Now one week on the job, the answer is yes.  I am excited by the work, pleased by the challenge of a new career.  This is something I can do for the next few years.  I get to learn lots of new things.  Yeah!  And plus in a year or two, I’ll be portable again–able to get a job almost anywhere.

The omens are good for this job, just like they were for the other job. With both new jobs this year, opportunities arose unexpectedly for the small business the same week I started a new job.  So with the coding job, two days after I started working for the new boss, I had to take off an afternoon and then work a long lunch the following day at a craft show.  Made the assumption that if it had been OK the week before, then it had to be OK in the new position.

Then last weekend (one day after starting my new job), I went to art class on Saturday. Art Beat on Main Street (www.artbeatonmainstreet.com) offered me the chance to have a booth at the strawberry festival on Sunday.  100,000 people were estimated to attend this one day event in downtown Vista.  Well, my partner and I were successful, we got our business “Dragon Cats and Doggie Bags” launched.  Hosted a booth all day with a only a couple of sales.  One of the I think was a mercy sale, someone from the shop being nice.  But I’ll take it as a vote of confidence.  And I get the opportunity to repeat this at any other downtown event in Vista.  HURRAHHH!!!!!!

One other thing happened over the last couple weeks–I got a piece accepted into a professional juried show.  Not a big one, but the quality of accepted works is high.  I feel like a winner just having my piece displayed on the wall.  I was told that the subject matter was interesting to many people, something different.  And the frame came out very nice.  It was an old one that needed loving restoration.  Sanding, new stain, and polyurethane can make all the difference.  You let me know.  Here is “In the Sink” immortalizing Charlie’s love of recycled food (AKA scraps) by Robine Lewis.

image

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

