A Quest

For years, I’ve been on a quest to photograph the Jacaranda Trees when blooming.  Huge beautiful purple blossoms that are extremely tricky to photograph.  Lighting, shadows, and color saturation make it almost impossible to get a good photo.   Add in the typical weather pattern of May Gray and June Gloom–the fog from the Catalina Eddy that envelopes San Diego like a blanket protecting us from the Sunny Skys.

However, this year the Jacaranda Trees bloomed early.  They used be in full color during June, but this year they started in April.  Now, early May and the purple trees are in full bloom.   So there is a chance of getting a tree highlighted by the long rays of the mrning or evening sun.  Now the challenge is finding a tree not obscured by power lines or other unsightly urban views.  And I finally am getting a half decent photo.  Still not perfect, but there are those three’s in Brengle Terrace (a local park) that might be perfect this week if the weather cooperates (I.e. No fog in the evening).

The first photo shows the raw data–the first good picture.  Then I cropped and played with the image to make something that looks like an oil painting.

The third photo only has a bit of cropping and brightness contrast.  Not quite raw, but close to it.

image

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

