Fairy Godmothers can exist

And for the last few days, I’ve had the pleasure of being a Fairy Godmother. 

Tuesday, it was for a nine year old girl and her mom.  While I have never met this girl, I’ve known her mom for the last 7 years.  The mother of three, she’s divorced and struggling.  The dad in not very good about being either with children or paying child support.  So last weekend when her dad didn’t show up, she had a major temper tantrum.  Her mother was upset about this on Monday, wondering if she or her daughter should apologize for the bad behavior.  They had just moved into a fantastic place – a quiet house in a nice neighborhood with friendly neighbors.  Well it turns out that her daughter loves to draw.  And thus I became a fairy godmother by getting her some good quality art supplies.  Included a nice book on how to draw fairies and dragons along with paints, pencils, and good paper.  In the worst case, I made a girl and her mom happy.  In the best case, her mom might be able to teach her to take out aggressions in art instead of temper tantrums and then I might have changed a life. 

At work, I run an arts and craft club.  Great arrangement, I or other employees teach an art class and my aerospace company pays for art supplies.  “Engagement” they call it.  A chance to play with really cool stuff using other people’s money is what I call it.  Anyway, yesterday there was lunchtime fair hosted by all the clubs.  The surfing club had a balance board.  The 3D Printing club had a pancake bot which draws greyscale pictures using pancake batter.  But we beat everyone with our art projects.  Over 75 people (mostly engineers and other technical people) happily spent lunchtime painting a wine glass or tile trivet.  Lots of laughter and joy, brought about by our activity.

And then today, I get the joy of telling my manager how to find money for computers.  He’s new to the division, the site, and our way of doing business building autonomous aircraft.  He had been told there was no money, suck it up.  Well that means I have to crawl under my desk several times a day to change computer hookups instead of getting a 300 dollar switch box or disable my ergonomic workstation.  Both are no-go options for me.  So I volunteered to find the money people and have.  Hurrah. Again, I get to be the bearer of happiness and joy.

It’s fun to be a fairy godmother.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

