Price is not the word of the day

Chaotic, Overwhelming, Incomprehnsible are more likely word’s of the day than price.  It feels like a day and a half although it’s only been 15 hours since I got up.  What didn’t happen today?  Lots.  But there were lots of small annoyances that overall make a day extraordinarily overwhelming.  And today was that day.

Well today was monumental.  I started a new job with a new group doing unknown tasks with an unknown manager, albeit within the same company where I have been working for the last 11 years.  That’s a big deal, changing your life like that.  But I am happy, it can’t be worse than manager I’ve had for the last six months.  We don’t even want to go into what was wrong although the words micromanage and bully go a long way into describing the situation.

Getting to this new job was exhausting.  Bob is on vacation with Kate.  They both went back east to visit the other two daughters who actually managed to escape from Southern California.  Some has to work and pay the bills.  Unfortunately that someone is me.  Oh well, at least I get paid a good salary or at least a half way decent salary for my work.  And usually, if given half decent assignments, I actually like the work.

But today was scary and overwhelming.  I had to be at work at 9 am.  Not hard on a typical day.  But today, I barely made that schedule.  First, I got up to find the coffee had gone on and off, leaving me with a pot of cold black coffee.  Yuck.  I obviously don’t have the auto-on feature under my control.  OK, fine, I can reheat the cold coffee.  But while doing that, the damned dog managed to escape from her backyard.  I still don’t know how although I think she pushed the garage door barrier and slid underneath.  No matter what, her escape meant that I had to capture a dog bored beyond belief by the absence of her beloved master.  Once captured, I shoved her into the car as preparation for visiting Doggie Day Care, AKA grandma.

Gathered up everything and got into the car.  Half a mile from home, realized I had left a pot with coffee on the still-turned-on-stove.  Yeah!  Who want’s to go back home and turn off the stove.  Me, of course.  I did and finally got to Grandma’s house where I could dump the dog for the day.   Let’s not talk about her behavior, but it is bad.  Elly is trying to bully grandmother into giving her treats by threatening to jump on her.  Not good.  She needs more long walks which I have not had the chance to give her.  Luckily grandmothers house does offer a couple of attractions.  First there is Mitzi, the dog who has been bossing Elly around since she was a pup.  They are friends.  And there are rabbits.

It is rabbit season.  That means everywhere in Grandmother’s neighborhood you can find baby rabbits.  And they are great fun to chase.  Elly loves it.  She goes on the hill on the backyard (not allowed by Gmom), roots in the Rosemary bush roots (not allowed by Gmom), and on at least one occasion has flushed flushed a bunny.  Then Elly chases said bunny all around the yard, something very much discouraged by Gmom.

Got to work, barely on time. Thank someone for the blessing of spring break that allowed me enough time to go home, turn off the stove, dump Elly, and still make it to work on time.  Even with a wander through a huge building (probably 1/2 mile in length) to find said meeting since my map was upside down.  There I found out about a new job for which I had known nothing.  Not what I was I doing, what program, what building or site, who the boss was, or even how long said program would last.

Best news of all–the boss is 1000% better than my old boss.  Bad news–they want me to write code.  But I haven’t professionally written code in 20 years.  My skills here are a bit weak.  It’s going to be an interesting learning curve.  No phones, limited email access, and it’s going to take me a few weeks to get settled.  But the program wants me 100% focused on task today.   I can do this, it’s going to be an interesting challenge.  And I like challenges.  What’s the problem.

Well one small wrinkle is that I am ALSO launching a small business this week. Dragon Cats and Doggie Bags — We’ll sell you kits to make grocery shopping bags that feature original art.  Yeah.  Lots of fun.  I am responsible fore the sewing pattern and kits.  MY partner is taking care of all the business type stuff — pictures, display cases, product bags, labels, business cards, and more.  Thanks to whatever God or Goddess you want for that. All I have to do is create a few bags and write up a simple pattern.  Initial task done weeks ago when we got ready for a focus group testing my pattern.

So I have photos, notes and redlined to incorporate into this basic pattern. Plus a couple of simple variation that shouldn’t complicate life much.  Except of course, the work is not yet done.  I should be doing it either early in the morning before work or after work.  And neither is happening.  Life is too busy.

Tonight when I came home, the dog needed dinner.  The cats needed dinner.  The fish needed dinner.  The fish wanted food.  The cat litter boxes had to be cleaned.  And plants needed watering. Trash and recycles really wanted to be put into their blue bins.  We won’t even discuss house cleaning, laundry, or dishes as things that need to be considered.  The plants needed me to bring a 40 pound, 5 gallon water bottle downstairs and infuse said water with nutrients after doing appropriate water quality testing.  Answering machines were begging for attention.  And the house already is a disaster area.  Finally about 8 pm, I got to cook my self dinner.  Hurray, it’s been a long day started with my leaving the house at 7 am.

Well while I was starting dinner, Charlie had gotten outside. That meant he and the other cats got a second dinner.  Charlie loves food and comes very well for my call “Sally, Sophie, Charliiiiiiiieeeeeeeee”.  He always gets a treat when he does come.  And that’s good because the coyotes come out at night and they love fresh cat for dinner.  I want my cat’s inside and away from those coyotes.  Even if it means a second dinner for the cats. So tonight, a can of catfood was on the menu for second dinner. Sophie was excited. And she managed to dump an entire can of stinky catfood onto the silverware drawer.

Silverware drawer–the location where I keep spoons, knives, and forks.  It has a lovely bamboo organizer that fits extremely snugly into the drawer. So when Sophia dumped the can of catfood into said drawer, lots of work had to be done.  I emptied the drawer, put it on the counter for cleaning, and now am ignoring it.  And instead of doing the washing, I cooked an extra big serving of popcorn.  With extra amounts of butter.  Elly was delighted.

Actually all the animals were happy, they all like popcorn with butter.  And with those extra calories, I had the strength to write this blog post.  So we should all celebrate a full moon with an extra serving of popcorn with lots butter.  And another glass of wine.  Have a great evening.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

