Charlie’s Secret

Every morning Charlie haunts the kitchen waiting for me.  He knows the routine well, get up, take my blood sugar reading, and then get a cup of coffee.  Charlie loves this routine because he has a secret passion for milk in the morning.  Milk the cat, Milk for the cat.  Not quite the line from “In the NIght Kitchen” where Mikey fell out bed, out of his clothes and into the night kitchen.  But like that kitchen, there is milk every morning for me and the cat.

When I get up, he’s lurking by the coffee pot.  When I come out to the kitchen, he starts meowing.  Tail up, he rubs against me asking “Where’s MY milk?”  Normally, I give him a teaspoon in a saucer and all is good.  But this morning, Sophie decided to check out the milk.  The results are hilarious.  Charlie is good at sharing.  He doesn’t like it, but he was well trained as a kitten.  Sharing means that you can stick your head into anyone else’s plate of food and eat.  He does that frequently.  And when someone else sticks their head into your plate, Charlie just eats faster.  Lucky for you all, I got some great pictures. 

I’ll never forget the time when Mitzi was visiting.  Mitzi, my mother-in-law’s dog, is a small cocker spaniel a bit bigger than Charlie.  Mitzi dominates her world.  She keeps Elly in line or at least tries.  Every time Elly goes to visit, she does check out Mitzi’s dinner bowl and if Mizti ever leaves a treat on the floor, Elly will eat it.  But Mitzi has every expectation that she can and will eat her dinner without any interruptions.  Even if she is visiting my house.  But Charlie didn’t know that rule, so he went over to her bowl and had a bite.  Mitzi was horrified and ANGRY.  She issued the ugliest growl and raced through her food at Charlie.  He had his “Come to Jesus” moment as he raced for safety.  Since then, Mitzi is the only animal in our house that does NOT share food.

  

  

  

   
   
Daily Prompt: Secret

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

