A beautiful heart and other stuff

DAILY PROMPT: World’s Best Widget
You’ve been granted magical engineering skills, but you can only use them to build one gadget or machine. What do you build?

It is not what I would build, but what I did create last week — a perfect heart.  Had an incredible weekend of day tripping.  Last Thursday evening, four other women and myself went to Stone and Glass for a glass blowing class.  Hot molten glass, pretty colors, lots of uncertainty about the final outcome–in other words the almost perfect art form.  Bronze is better, but harder to do.  And it costs more; so of course that makes it the most perfect art form.  Anyway, back to the glass.  My heart was amazing.  The instructor commented on a small ding on one side.  That only makes it even better — a unique one of a kind heart.

image

Fun didn’t stop on Friday.  Instead of working, I spend a vacation day with Bob.  Went for a walk in the morning followed by an afternoon sailing.  Dinner afterwards completed a wonderful day of day tripping.  Saturday and Sunday were equally hedonistic.  Went to art class where I painted a dragon cat.  Spent Saturday afternoon rearranging my art studio which used to be known as the TV room for kids.  Now it’s 600 square feet of space for myself, hosting areas for painting, sewing, beading, and electronics gear.  Even have a special corner for writing and computers.  Sunday was more of the same, spent sewing and writing up patterns.

And on Saturday, we went out for Pizza.  Real Pizza.  Something I haven’t eaten in months because of diabetes.  Unfortunately it did play havoc with my blood sugar, so I can’t eat it again without some careful planning.  The good news is if I control my diet, blood sugar numbers are way down in the pre diabetes range.  And I’m loosing weight or at least think I am since my clothes are getting bigger. Maybe next year, I’ll be half the woman I am now.  That would be a miracle.

Having so much fun combined with real misery during the week makes it difficult to write a blog post, hence the reliance on daily prompts.  Work still exists and my boss who can’t share work still exists.  There are some possible changes that can happen, more about those later.  And in the meantime, I have a wonderful heart to keep on my desk.  And because of this class, Bob and I now have a new Valentine’s Day tradition.  Every year, we are going to try something new together.  Last year it was sailing.  This year we are going back to Stone and Glass to take a class in glassblowing.  I want to make glow in the dark beer glasses.  Next year, who knows.  Bob is talking about hang gliding.  I’m shuddering.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “A beautiful heart and other stuff”

  1. What a wonderful commentary! You sound truly happy! You are an inspiration regarding the diabetes control. You’re doing wonderfully, even if an occasional pizza wreaks havoc. That’s OK. I LOVE your glass heart. Absolutely exquisite!

Leave a Reply

