Werepigeons and other thoughts

DAILY PROMPT: Life After Blogs
Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

Today a new novel arrived via the computer.  And it has great visual images.  Take the lines: “John and Susie Q Public were lucky to get to work without being pecked to death.  Of course, that was during the last were pigeon outbreak in 2003.” (The Brimstone Deception: A SPI Files Novel by Lisa Shearin)  Doesn’t that line bring all kinds of pictures into your head?  Imagine having to confess to your family, friends, or co-workers that you were a Werepigeon and therefore needed 3 days off every month around the full moon?  That’s just plain embarrassing and yet if you were afflicted with that disease, how could you lie about it?  Every month at the full moon, you were incapacitated for 3 days.  I suppose you could lie about being something more sexy–like a coyote or a rat.  But still, it’s not something that probably ever will be considered a good thing. Being a were of any type would lead to discrimination that makes the current gay, lesbian, and other types of discrimination seem mild.

So no, I don’t want to imagine a world without a computer.  After all, I have made a life based on computers.  Daytime — requirements engineer extraordinar, nighttime wannabe novelist who loves playing on a computer or iPad.  If you take my computer away, there is nothing left of me.  I am not defined by mere ordinary life things like cooking dinner or cleaning the cat litter box. Instead, I am SUPERWOMAN.  Able to stand long hours staring at a blank screen.  Able to find joy in a white page filled with nothing but the word shall.  Able to protect keyboards from the worst cat infestations you could ever imagine.  And occasionally even able to do a little bit of work, at least enough to keep the bosses happy.  As for keeping my significant other happy (AKA Bob), that doesn’t require a computer.  What it does require is not up for discussion, use your imagination.

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “Werepigeons and other thoughts”

Leave a Reply

