Bucket Lists are for wimps

DAILY PROMPT: Kick It
What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Bucket lists are for wimps.  It is a good excuse to avoid doing something while you wait for the perfect time that probably never will arrive.  My alternative is to live as fully as possible NOW.  Charlie has the right attitude.  Everyday is filled with purpose and selfish abandonment to whatever he wants.  Morning, time to go outside, but first lets beg for the morning milk.  Check the boundaries, make sure no birds or mice are carelessly transgressing into his zone.  Midday, let’s check the sink and trash cans for some food.  Nothing, oh well, Kibble will do.  Afternoon, time for a nap.  The best naps are when he can take over Elly’s bed.  If you asked Charlie about a bucket list it might go like this

  • Tuna
  • Hot Blanket
  • Hot dog rescued from the sink
  • Catching a bird, a mouse, a lizard, anything
  • Chicken rescued from the dog
  • Clean Litter box
  • Nap in the sun
  • Catching a fish from the tank

So you might say that today, Charlie did accomplish a bucket list item.  Afternoon nap  on the dog bed.  You have to agree he looks happy.

image.jpg

 

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Bucket Lists are for wimps”

Leave a comment