Sunshine in the dark

Daily Prompt: Morphing
Language evolves. The meaning of a word can shift over time as we use it differently — think of “cool,” “heavy,” or even “literally.”
Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.

The last week has been dark, depressing, and terrifying.  At work, I’ve had a new boss with a very different work style.  This boss wants everything done slowly and deliberately.  One task at a time, finished before a new task is assigned.  And of course, there is only one smart one and that’s this boss.  So anything good work has been pulled into his basket, leaving a few little crumbs for me.

Now I work very different–throw the work at me; the harder the better.  I am an engineer, I love solving tough problems.  And I’m one of those people who can’t stay still, doing one thing.  I am chaotic, needing to juggle multiple tasks at the same time.  That way if one is too hard, I can put it aside for a while, do something else, and then come back later to finish it.  And I usually can get a lot of good work done in a short period of time.  I take pride in being productive.  So having single tasks that only take a day or two to finish has been hard.

Last week, I went back to work after two weeks of glorious holiday and was back at making a 2 hour task last 2 days.  I hate having to beg for work on a daily basis.  The final straw was when a task that should had been mine was taken away and done by the pointy haired boss from Dilbert Fame.  But this individual couldn’t stay for the entire meeting, so he summoned me and I had to attend the meeting representing the boss when it should have been my task.

So last friday I went to another one of my bosses and said I had to have a new job.  I couldn’t work for this boss.  I was going bonkers not having any work to do.  And there is a lot of it waiting to be done.  It is scary to almost quit a job without having something lined up.  I am calling favors from everyone trying to find a better engineering position.  But nothing happens fast in aerospace and I have probably burned a few bridges.

It is unclear what will happend or where I will end up at work.  It might work out great with a fantastic new job.  I might stay where I am continuing to do the same work although probably not for the same boss.  Or who knows what. If I hadn’t said anything I probably would have gotten a terrible review for not doing enough work and missing deadlines.   Plus I don’t need all that extra stress just when I am learning how to deal with diabetes.

But its amazing how a few small kind words can make a great difference in how I feel.  Someone at work offing to slip me work and bypass the formal process.  Another person pointing out that I have been gathering lots of great scenes for my novel.  That individual had me laughing as he sent me  home to write off my frustrations.  And then just today, I got a very kind comment from one of my readers.  It made me smile. So thank you everyone in the family and outside for all your support.  I appreciate it.  It brings back the sunshine in my life, reminds me of all the wonderful things in life.

And really, life has been very good.  Bob and I have been learning how to eat on a no carb diet.  He’s been cooking great dinners every night and only having things like spaghetti or sandwiches when I am not around.  I learned that there is a cauliflower shortage, with a single head costig 5 to 10 dollars if you can find it anywhere.  That’s because there are so many no carb recipes that substitute cauliflower for flour.  But I am not convinced that it really can be a good substitute for pizza crust. Food tastes more vivid.  And I am loosing weight or at least inches that make all my clothes feel loose.  And this is after only a few weeks on the low carb diet.

As a thank you, I am going to share a couple great pictures.  First one is Charlie in hist food hunting mode.   The ultimate dumpster diver, Charlie monitors everything that goes into the sink.  Here he is licking a pan which I had thought was full of butternut squash soup.  Yes he would eat that, but the enthusiams was surprsing.  Well the joke was on me, I had pulled out cheese sauce instead of soup.  So I had some of my 5 dollar head of cauliflower with cheese sauce instead of soup.

 

And the second picture shows the other two cats in their custom heated beds.  Now we keep our house cold in the winter.  I don’t like high heating bills.  And I love sleeping at night with the windows wide open, even if the temperature is dropping into the low 40’s.  (yes, we are spoiled with good weather in san diego).  The poor cats don’t like houses that are kept at temperatures ranging from 45 degrees to a high of 65 degrees fairenheit.  They keep going inside and outside looking for a warm spot.  At night, they all crawl under the blankets.  And they all squable over the best heater spot.  So last night we tried making a cat nursery.  Three laundry baskets with one heater blanket.  Have not yet seen all three cats in the baskets at once, but certainly have seen two of them enjoying the heat at any giiven time.

So what word am I redefining — Sunshine.  A brightness and lightening of one’s spirit based on the kind words and deeds of others.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Sunshine in the dark”

  1. Nice reading this. I can’t understand why some people are so difficult to work with. I like to work with people who make work a joy. Maybe as somebody insinuated, you could turn the stumbling blocks by your new boss into stepping-stones. That could end up being a blessing.

Leave a Reply

