Having Fun

This week has been full of cheer and fun projects.  My creative club has been working overtime to provide worktime relief in the form of arts and crafts.  So we had an earring class at lunch and painting class last night.  Next week are the bow tying classes along with requisite politics. But more on that later. First I want to talk about my painting.

Last night we went to a wine and paint place.  That’s become a very popular craze.  Basically adult paint by numbers along with some wine.  Last night I went to store that does nothing but wine and sip parties.  I don’t  understand the economics.  Is there that much demand for painting parties.  12 people, 35 dollars each pluas another 5 each for a glass of wine.  Is there more than one party a day?  They do offer a service to create a paint by numbers canvas of your pet, that seems popular.  But rent must be at least 2000 a month in downtown Escondido.  Perhaps they own the building and don’t have to worry about money.

Anyway, last night we were supposed to paint the peace dove carrying a christmas ornament.  But I didn’t want a painting that was only supposed to be displayed for a few days and then put away for another year.  And I didn’t want a religious picture.  So, instead I have a dragon bird flying towards a snow covered tree.  Tell me what you think.

image

image

Now the bow tying class has been an interesting exercise in politics.  Northrop supports its recreation clubs with a limited amount of funding.  It’s enough money to have a lot of fun if you are careful with the funds and willing to do paperwork.  But recently, the local chapter president seemed to think we were giving away too much stuff by buying supplies for classes.  Next week it is a bow tying class — two sessions.  We provide 10 feet of ribbon and 6 inches of 24 or 26 gauge wire; teaching people how to tie those 10 dollar custom bows found at micheals and high end department stores.

The president decided that giving people this bow which does have commercial value was too much to bear.  And so I was supposed to charge for the class.  But rules are very tight about how money should be handled and I didn’t want to do anything that might be even percieved as making money.  The thing that really stuck in his throat is that we invited everyone to come.  And if they wanted help making a special package — bring your own box and paper.  We will help you make the bow and show you how to use it.  We have about 50 people signed up for a class that will cost 90+ dollars and a lot of extra work on several peoples part.  A very good return on company funds — fun, creativity training, and a very low cost.

Now there have been complaints from other clubs also being censored.  No riembursement checks.  Funds being arbitrarily reallocated to approved events.  Eventually the rancor rose to a level and corporate became involved.  And I am promised riembursement on several outsanding bills.  Hope I get a check before the holidays.  It’s always nice to get some unexpected money.

 

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

