Music for diets

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Papa Loves Mambo.”

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

Right now I need something livey,  Boom da Boom — lots of drums, some guitar or keyboard, a bit of brass, and a lot of jive.  It’s morning…early morning and I have little fun planned for the day.  Of course work is always fun, tons and tons of fun.  And then there is the diet challenge; have to get started on that and today is as good as any day.

My mom sent two books — the Martha Beck “The Four-Day Win” and Ian Smiths “Shred: Revolutionary Diet”.  Martha Beck’s first chapter has a depressing title “Why are you So Damn Fat?”  There are lots of  exercises and mental games.  Her first real exercise is to write down a daily goal, no snarkiness allowed.  It is supposed to be measurable.  Here’s mine “I want the red pants to fit more comfortably” as a long term goal and “To eat vegtables at dinner, even if I have been eating them all day long” as my short term goal.   Reading farther, it says take what I call a serving of vegtables, cut it in half and then cut it in half again.  Now I can easily achieve that goal and have to set a daily reward.  And a 4 day reward for making it four days in a row.  I’ll have to think about those rewards, something fun for the day.

It’s like the goal I set myself this year– do more exercise.  And every week where I have three exercise sessions, I get to have an art lesson.  This mantra is well known at work.  There I have a crew helping me get the exercise. It works.  I’ve been taking painting and drawing lessons all year long.  So perhaps this diet goal might work.  Perhaps a 4 day goal is playing with some different art supplies or getting some new music.  I have a huge wish list of music I want for my library.

Now Shred is a complex diet book.  Lots of basic small meals all day long, very strict guidelines about what can be in the meals.  They only allow 1 cup of coffee per day, I don’t know why.  But that makes it hard to make it past the first day.  So perhaps, I’ll leave Shred for tomorrow morning.   Today I want my second cup of coffee.  It helps me think.  And perhaps some good tunes although this morning, the natural sounds are wonderful.  I can hear birds singing.  The kids at the local elementary school are about to have the bell ring. But at the moment there are shreiks of joy and clanks from playground equipment.  Traffic sounds, might hear the train horns in 15 minutes.

How does all this diet stuff have to do with music from when I was a child.  Well my musical education really began when I became an adult and was able to start collecting my own music.  Being broke, my favorite place to buy CD’s was from the junk stores and garage sales.  Eclectic taste in music — Jazz, Rageea, Rock and Roll, Classical, Musicals, Stories, and more.  Joined a mail – order music club and found by waiting for sales and buying 20 CD’s at a time it cost the same as buying 5 single CD’s.  I sampled, experimented, and learned to love many different genres.  With the advent of podcasts and streaming music servers, my library has grown exponentially.   And with this diet, I can also experiement, sample, and learn some new skills.  Perhaps even loose some weight; but more importantly to me become healthier.   We will see how it goes.  I might even get the new Omnia album as a reward.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

