Doggy Paradise can be exhausting

After a hellacious week of which the less said the better, Bob and I are visiting doggy paradise. Also known as Brindejon, my parents farm has a new resident—Bella. A young labradoodle pup about 14 weeks old, it only took Elly and Bella about five minutes to decide they were fast friends. Now they are inseparable. First thing in the morning, Elly races over to my parent’s house to see this pup. And she comes looking for my dog.

When together, they rumble. Rough, knock the furniture and clamber on top of each other type tussles. Usually Bella is on top although Elly can and does roll her over as needed to keep the young pup in line. Can’t even keep the names straight anymore as we are constantly tracking these dogs, just like one keeps track of a young child.. Soon the cry goes out “Belly” “Ella” or “DOGS”. Just like my kids used to do, they ignore me until I get the right name. And like little kids, they have trouble sharing. Any toy the other has is favored and must be obtained at all costs. This leads to tug of war, chase, theft by sneakiness, and outright hoarding of desired objects by laying on top. The little wretches are exhausting; but we have many laughs at the same time.

rough1 rough2 rough3 rough4 rough5 tugOfWar tugofwar2 tug_og_war3

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Doggy Paradise can be exhausting”

Leave a Reply

