Not a candy store

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Life’s a Candy Store.”

You get to be a 6-year-old kid again for one day and one day only — plan your perfect 24 hours. Where do you go, what do you do, and with whom?

Damn, wish I was a kid where the only concern was visiting the candy store.  Instead I’m at home listening to a police helicopter circle somewhere really close.  What they are saying is inintelligible except “call 911” the emergency number.  Don’t they have someone on the ground who can radio back that the helicopter message is unitelligible, give the mike to Barbara or Joe or whoever else is sitting in that helicopter?  The dog is barking, we brought her inside.  The garage door is closed.  There is nothing else we can do about this undefined terror circling the skys and presumably running around in the neighborhood.  Wish I was six years old.  It’s been a shitty day.

Over the last few days, I’ve learned some new torture techhniques.  Thought the worst thing was my co-worker would be sick and I have to do it’s (not his or her) work. And get blamed for being late.  Actually had some bets–a can of coke–on that very scenario. I lost the bet, my co-worker showed up to do it’s job.   But I’m on the hook waiting for results.  Friday (an off day), sunday, monday, and even this morning.  Did I mention the deadline was last week. Nope, that doesn’t matter when torture is the subject.  Although IT seems to consider that IT did a favor by giving me a couple extra days of unexpected work.  And unfortunately, IT is right, I am taking advantage of a flexable workspace to take a trip.  Guess that means an apology tomorrow.  Damn, I am not ready to apologize for losing my temper. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be in a better mood. If not, then definitely next week.

And I am getting an unexpected but welcome holiday from this exercise.  On Thursday, Bob and I are going to visit my parents.  Why–to make a new table with some huge oak slabs they have.  Sounds like fun.  Only this was a busy weekend, so we have social events, table making, a few more social events, a few more beautiful houses to visit, and even brunch one morning.  Sounds like a difficult schedule; I may have trouble adding in some art.  What a hardship, I can hear you all sighing with disapointment.  But my mom is promising social events, house beautiful tours, dinners, drinks, and brunches.  My dad talks about bits and routers, plywood, boxes, tables, and woodworking.  Both of them talk about cruises since we all are going to France next year for a cruise.  Hurrah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  So that is my perfect 24 hours or even 12 months–daydreaming about a trip to France.  I am very lucky and happy.

Now this post was supposed to be from the viewpoint of a six year old kid.  That’s too far in the past for me.  Can’t do that.  But I am happy as an unexpected holiday from work and an unexpected visit to my parents.  Sort of like being in a candy store.  I’ll get to see those I love, do lots of fun things, and perhaps even get to do some art.  All that makes me happy, better than the candy store where the sweetness only lasts for as long as the candy.


Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “Not a candy store”

Leave a Reply

