Reforming Furniture

In my house we revel in using and reusing old furniture.  One couch from Bob’s grandmother is about 100 years old and the coverings at least 50 years old.  My mom’s couch is probably about 40 years old.  But all fabric solutions eventually need refurbishing, that includes our couches.  So Bob hauled up one old chair and started pulling it apart.  Great wood, but obviously no pride in workmanship.  There is still bark on some of the pieces for an armchair.  Broken pieces of wood were nailed into place–a few more nails cover any problems.  Yet still, one doesn’t see nice thick pieces of wood like that in modern furniture.  So the question of the day is: What is Bob going to do with these pieces of furniture.  I want him to reshape and show off the wood.  He’s thinking about reupholstering the furniture.  He’s doing the work so it’s his art project and his choice.   What do you think?

   
   

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Reforming Furniture”

  1. Looks like a lot of work! What a great project. Looking forward to seeing the end result. I think it’s going to be gorgeous. Do you have a fabric picked out already?

Leave a Reply

