Modern Hunk drinking coffee

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Home Turf.” Name five things in your house that make it a home.

Some of the  things that make my house a home include

  • Modern Hunk sitting at the kitchen table drinking coffee
  • more coffee for me
  • cats and dogs lying around
  • photos and momentos of kids, life, and vacations
  • books on almost any imaginable topic
  • An open garage door inviting the world into my kitchen
  • a bag of art supplies sitting on table next to me.

The list seems fairly self explanatory..a  home for me starts with the occupants,  good food and drink, and a chance to play.  Modern hunk is the mainstay of my life.  He’s everything good — love, companionship, and joy.  He makes me laugh.  Provides order in my world where chaos rules.  And that goes beyond clean and neat into making me focus on projects and remember the important things.  Of Hunkiness goes without question.  I’ve always thought he is the most attracttive man in any room.

And all the pets.  We get endless hours of amusement with the pets.  Cats and dogs and thier needs demanding attention.  Sophie is the worst.  Unless it’s time for her morning constitutional outside, she stays about 2 feet away from me at all times.  She even gets up and follows me around the house.  If at night, I am sleeping outside and decide to come inside, she comes too.  And then her first task is clearing the bed of all other pets.  “Charlie, get up and go sleep somewhere else.  Sally, what are you thinking, sleeping on this bed–I am here.  And Elly, don’t even think about getting near me.”  Amazingly enough, the other animals obey her.

And thene there is the stuff of life.  Right now, I am looking at an early picture of my three girls hanging on the front of the china cabinet.  Inside, you see the set of fancy dishes Bob got for me as a special present.  We use those once or twice a year for special occasions.  I did take them up to Los Angeles when we cooked a special dinner for my parents 50th wedding anniversary along with my silver set from Grandfather Lohmann, pots and pans, and a huge cake that Kate made.  Unfortunately the frosting started slipping so we bought a bunch of small roses and covered all the messy frosting.  YOu can also see a seal my dad brought me from Sweden when I was a little girl and he was doing business travel and a cat my parents brought me from Russia this summer.  That cat is beautiful, I want to put it on display.  Unfortunately the first time we put it out, Charlie thought that was a new toy and knocked it onto the counter.  Not damaged by it’s fall, we immediately put it into the cabinet of precious stuff to be used somewhere.

Precious is not a measure of financial value.  The hundred year goblets may have some monetary value, but they don’t have the memories of great afternoons the two clay and latte painted dragons hold.  Right now I use those dragons as centerpieces during fancy dinners.  And the glasses, I store for Kate who wants to use them in the future to make her own memories.  When they break, she knows to mourn their loss by remembering the joy they brought.  After all, the next big earthquake could come today; shattering everything in a matter of seconds.  Better to enjoy these objects while we can.

I could go on about all those other objects in the list, but you probably have an idea of what’s important in my life already.   But more importantly, it’s time for me to go to work.  Even thought I want one more cup of coffee enjoyed with modern hunk, duty calls.  And thus like a toddler, I go to work while having an internal temper tantrum “I don’t want to go, I want to stay and play”.  It is just like the days where I hated leaving my girls at day care.  I would stand and wait outside the front door of the daycare place and listened to my girls screams turn into laughter as they adjusted to the changes of the day.  It was the process of changing that upset them, not the daycare itself.  And so, I go off to work whinning and settle down to do a job that is reasonably interesting and pays enough for me to maintain our lifestyle while saving a little bit extra.

image

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “Modern Hunk drinking coffee”

  1. Good answer! I think you covered it all. I missed one you remembered–art supplies, but I guess I could make the excuse that that is what makes my studio a studio. (Not the best excuse, because I tend to have art supplies all over the house as well.) Very good essay on your part!

Leave a Reply

