I have not become my parents, but….

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I’ve Become My Parents.”

I have not become my parents, but I get along much better as an adult than as a teenager with them.  In fact, I even enjoy their company and look forward to our too few visits every year.  It has taken literally years to reach this state, but the rewards have been vast.  In fact, I just agreed to participate in a joint diet with my mom.   Don’t know anything about it, mom will send me the book this week and we can start next week.  Goal is to get fitter and slimmer for another european vacation next october.  Mom wants to go crusing in southern France and visit a truffle farm.  Of course I said yes.   Europe is fantastic, I’ll come visit anytime.  And if lucky someday, I might even get to live there for a while.

Anyway, back to the diet which includes lots of pyschological tricks, games, and other mental gryations.   It will be an interesting challenge.  But since I don’t really know the rules, want to propose a few ground rules of my own.

1.  No Scales.

The purpose of this diet is to make our selves healthier for a european vacation. So lets pick something that actually measures health.  First thing I suggest is finding a pair of pants that are bit tight.  Success is when these pants fit well.  Second is adding some exercise.  So we add a couple easy stretches, two pushups, five sit ups a day.  And then over time, we increase it.  Success can easily be measured by doubling the number of daily pushups or adding a new exercise.  Each of us gets to choose our own set of initial exercises.

2.  Cheating

It’s OK to cheat once a week.  And no one has to confess to cheating.   I don’t even want to define what cheating means, but I’ll know it when I do it.

3.  Measuring progress.

We measure progress on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.  That means trying on those damned tight pants and seeing how they do.  Record how many push-ups or whatever one is doing.  Mom–do you think we have to share these figures?

4.  Terminology

I don’t to hear the word diet, deprivation, or denial.  Lets focus on the positive words like adjusting portions or adding in healthy behaviors.   Yeah, I know, it seems petty to worry about the words. but that makes me happy.  I can live in denial and focus on the positive.  It’s soft of like when I tell myself that reading 100’s of line of code is fun.  A challenge, a puzzle to figure out what that code is doing.  Or like the day the air conditioning broke at work and I kept reminding myself we were adopting the european fashions on airconditioning.  Although to be honest, I would really like a compromise between the two settings.  80 degrees in the office is hot.  But 68 or even 70 degrees is too cold.

And with these conditions….let the diet competition begin.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “I have not become my parents, but….”

  1. If you would like to take walks with me after work, let me know. I need motivation (a friend) to get me out of the house. When I walk, I eat less and sleep better, but yet, I find it difficult to find the motion alone. Would love to walk with you maybe once a week. That way, we can keep up with our friendship too. Let me know what you think. I

  2. Clothes are a good incentive. I just took down 4 boxes of small, smaller smallest clothes and found one entire box that now fits. Yay! No more baggy slacks! (Guess that is the meaning of the word.) i’ve been watching what I eat for 15 weeks and have lost 25 to 27 lbs.–depending on some fluctuation I don’t yet understand. Takes sooooooo long to take off and soooooooo little time to put back on. You have it right–sane and healthy with daily exercise is the answer. Good luck.
    http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/20/generational-drift/

Leave a Reply

