I am an idiot

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “These Horns Were Made for Tooting.”

Today, share something you love about yourself — don’t be shy, be confident! — but that few other people know about you or get to see very often.

And last night I won the Idiot Ale award.  Unfortunately we didn’t have an actual bottle of that beer around to celebrate my idiot status.  Learned something new…..What you ask was that?  Well let me tell you.

Yesterday,  I left my lights on all day long.  And as expected in the evening, my car would not start.  Of course, I had been hopeful that the car would start and hadn’t even realized that the lights had been on.  Yep, Idiot time for the second time in a week.  You’ll learn about the first case when I post the sailing pictures.  That’s another story so back to the car.  It wouldn’t start.  And that meant walking back to my desk on the second floor in the middle of a huge building.

First found a co-worker to look up the building address.  My computer was off and it takes about 30 minutes to get them started and ready for use, so using a co-worker for research was important.  He didn’t know how to find the building address on our company website, so he learned something.  Called AAA, they told me that someone could be there in 30 minutes.  Found another co-worker to look up security’s phone number.  He convinced me to cancel the Auto Club service call because he would give me a jump start.

Trotteed back outside in the rain.  Had I mentioned that it was raining during this entire experience.  Anyway, had to push my car into the middle of the parking lot driving lane so his jumper cables could reach both car batteries.  Guess what–it didn’t work.  Nope, my car wouldn’t start.  So I left the car with hood up blocking the road in the back parking lot and trooped back upstairs to my office.  Called AAA for the third time and said that they should bring a battery since the jump didn’t start my car.  Called Security and got told under no circumstances should I let the tow truck operator into the back parking lot.  Since I don’t want any security violations on my record, I agreed.  They promised to send someone over by 7:50 pm.  And I went outside to wait.  Did I mention that I did not have a cell phone, so there was no way for anyone to contact me or me to contat them without trooping back upstairs to the middle of a big building.

Waited 30 minutes in the rain before the auto club jump start service arrived.  Security person was a no-show. The auto club guy agreed to wait while I trooped back upstairs and called security.  He was happy, it gave him a chance to eat his lunch at 8 pm at night. And it turns out that security had walked to the back, missed seeing my car with the open hood in the middle of the driving lane and thought I had left. So he left.  Eventually all was sorted out and the AAA guy was able to come help start my car.

Last wrinkle.  Car starts, but my battery is no good.  Was told that my car would not start again, so don’t stop until I get home.  But I needed gas. However both the security guy and the Auto Club roadside service guy assured me it would be OK to put in gas with the car running.  I did it and nothing burned down.  And thus I learned something new.  And this morning, I get the joy of being a mechanic in about 10 minutes.  Time to take out the battery, troop down to the auto parts shop, and get a new one.  Thank goodness, Bob has a working car.

And that folks, is how I won the idiot award last night.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

3 thoughts on “I am an idiot”

    1. Forgot to mention the good parts of last night. I got to enjoy the rain while standing outside for 30 minutes. It was lovely and cool. And I got to see the big racoon with attitude. That racoon is notorious for rummaging in trash cans and hissing at anyone who dares disturb him.

Leave a Reply

