The two grandmothers and more

During our last trip up the Brindejon, my parents farm; Bob and I were joined by Mary (my mother in law) and two dogs, Elle and Mitzi.  It turned out to be a great weekend, the two grandmothers got along famously.  In fact, it was a little scary, it seemed like they got along too well becoming a force to be reckoned with.  I was wondering what kinds of stories they were exchanging since it was a good chance to learn about the exploits of the other’s kids i.e. Bob and I.   But we did lots and had a great time.  It was clear that Miitzi remembered the farm and likes free ranging (although not too far) with Elle.  And then she got the joy of sleeping with her beloved mistress–Mary at night in the mud room.

Bob took lots of great photos, some of which I am pleased to share with you.  First   photo was  taken at the North Star Mine where my mom volunteers on Saturdays.  Fasinating musem, they have all kinds of working machinery– giant water wheels, shakers, and more.  Noisy big pieces of metal that move.  I learnedthat there was petrified wood in Nevada County at that museum and even bought a couple slices.  Now I need to learn how to polish rocks. 

 The next set of pictures is all about the dogs.  You can see how hapyp they they look running across big fields.  Great smells and many interesting things to check. Perhaps there might even be a rabbit to chase although my parents haven’t ever seen a dog catch one.  Funny story, my parents have a new puppy named Bella.  SShe’s still very little and like any baby takeslots of work.  You can’t take your eyes off her for more  than a monent.. And if she is quiet, then  you have to find out what kind of trouble she has found.   Yeesterday, I was talking with my dad.  Any mom who has chatted with a friend while watching small kids will recognize the conversation.

“Hi Dad, how is everything going?”

“”Good to hear from you,, did you get….wait Bella, NO.  Bella we talked about not chewing the furniture…Did you get the article I sent..  Bella, where did you go..  Excuse me for a second. …. Now where were we?  “

It was funny,  I have never had a conversation like that with my Dad before; at least not where I am the one listening to the interuptions.

 

  
 

We got a chance to see the mountain my great great grandfather washed away at the Thomas Brady Mining Park in You Bet.  In the second picture, you can see what it looked like years ago.

20130729-193233.jpg

And then there is the wildlife from the farm.  My folks have a fountain in the front of their house.  Deer come in the evenings and during the night to eat the fresh new flowering plants provided by my mom and drink the water.

But the real show at the fountain are the birds.  In the morning, birds line up in the tree above waiting for a chance to visit the fountain.  Hummingbirds always go first.  Finches and the bigger birds retreat when they come to play in the water.
  

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “The two grandmothers and more”

Leave a Reply

