A new sled for Bob

One of the big activities in our house is woodworking.  And by big, I mean BIG.  Big powerful tools, Big pieces of Wood, Big Collections of Tools, and Huge amount of dust everywhere.  But that’s OK, Bob is making lots of nice things for me — Doors, picture frames, boxes, and perhaps even a new couch.  Plus lots of small wonderful bits perfect for all my art projects.  

So the last time we were up at my parents farm, Brindejon; Bob and I gathered wood.  I took an entire large suitcase and filled it with manzanita sticks plus a few nice oak logs.  Mary who came with me was aghast, filling a suitcase with sticks?  But my parents got into the wood gatherning project and gave us some very special pieces.  One is an old oak burl.  Bob wants to make that into a table.  And some very special pieces of 13 layer birch plywood.  These came from my dad’s woodworking club, leftovers from some other project.  Bob immediately got excited and made a new sled.  For those not familiar with woodworking terminology, a sled is provides a structure for holding wood in the right position while making precise cuts with a table saw.  This 13 layer plywood  is excellent, making a very smooth sled.   

But what I liked even better than Bob’s sled was what he does with them.  Here’s the latest box by Bob.  I love the colors and grains of these woods.  It’s a beautiful piece of work.  The next pictures a little bit, a sideways cut on the plywood.  What a beautiful set of lines on the one the scrap pieces Bob finished for a future art project.  Collect enough of these pieces and I can make some interesting sculptures.