Who  would have guessed….S’mores

This last weekend was the grand finale of a summer filled with changes.  It began with 3 girls graduating and ended with a trip to my mom and dad’s farm.  Will talk all about those changes and events from the last few months later.  First, I need to get back into the routine of blogging.  Its a good way to keep in touch with family and friends.  My mom asked last weekend if I was going to keep blogging, she likes my stories.  And that makes me happy.

Anyway, it was my parents 55th wedding anniversary (minus a day or so) and we had a small party.  Always gifts, usually not lavish but something fun.  And this year, the fun present was a cookbook filled with national park restaurant recipes.  There was even a recipe for S’mores.  I learned that I’ve been making them all wrong for almost 50 years.   I never knew that two marshmallows were required; nor that order was important.     

There were many great things about last weekend, one event stands out because I don’t usually go out and do things with my dad.  This last weekend we went wine tasting.  Both of us had a glass of a really great primitivo from the Sierra Nevada Winery.  The wine I am drinking tonight, a primitivo from Trader Joes, is no where near as good as this wine.  Sitting on the back porch, the temperature must have been in the high eighties.  The misters had been replaced about 10 minutes before we sat outside, so we enjoyed both the warmth and the coolness of mist at the same time.  In the picture below, you can see my dad enjoying the great show.  The winery was crushing grapes to make more wine.  We got to try a copule of the pinot noir grapes, they had a great taste.  So the 2015 pinot noir from Sierra Nevada winery may turn into an exceptional taste.  Will have to try it the next time I am up there and the wine is ready.  And there will be a next time, hopefully in the near future.

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

