Even after 33 years of marriage; I still love the man

DAILY PROMPTDelayed ContactHow would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

Take a look at the picture below and tell me you wouldn’t notice or fall in love with the man holding a cat in his arms.  Obviously that cat adores him and trusts him completely.  Its a long standing relationship, the man is barely aware of the cat in his arms; the cat supremely content with life.  What you don’t see is the dog laying at his feet; also supremely happy.  

I married this man 33 years ago.  It was the best decision in my life.  Together we have built a good life for ourselvles–have a home, an income with enough money to pay the bills and if lucky a bit left over, strong family ties, and pets that give us much love and joy.  Last weekend was our aniversary.  We went camping and meteor hunting.  No electronics for an entire weekend.  And it was fun.  No pictures, no paints, no pets.  And even no tent poles.  But we did have cots, food, drink, and a great view of the sky.  Even saw some meteors.  Anytime you see more than one meteor, it’s a great night.  I saw dozens.  Bob arranged it all for me as a treat.  I enjoyed it.  

I mention the tent poles because on our honeymoon; we went camping for a month.  Made it as far north as Edmunton.  And it rained for several days while we camped at Lake Lousie.  Beautiful spot, but after a couple days of wet, decided to leave and go south hunting clear skys.  Stopped at a camping park right next to the main highway.  It was brand new, a big field next to the highway with scrawny small baby trees planted along the side. They had showers and we used them.
It turns out I left my wallet in the shower and didn’t discover the fact until several hundred miles later at the Canadian, US border.  No ID, we had to drive back to this campground where yes they did have the wallet.  But the drive turned out to be magical because we saw the northern lights.  And we only saw them becausee we turned around.

The story doesn’t end there.  The next morning we packed up the tent and drove over 500 miles to Yellowstone.  Got there late in the afternoon and started to set up the tent.  This was a brand new backpacking tent–a wedding present from my extended family.  And we had left the tent poles in Canada, leaned up against one of those baby trees.  Had just discovered that fact after laying the tent out flat on the ground.  The ranger came by to see if we wanted to pay.  I remember one of us telling him “Not at the moment, we are not sure we are staying.”  Wise man, he retreated from a moment of domestic discontent.  And after a few more moments, we calmed down, rolled out the sleeping bags, and then went to pay the ranger.  

Next morning, we went to town and ate pancakes.  They were so big, you could order 1, 2, or 3 cakes.  Each filled a 12 inch plate.  Many years later, Bob learned he was working with a man whose uncle owned that restaurant.  And we did buy some wood poles for the tent on our trip and later got new proper poles.  And if we had taken the poles for the tent last weekend, we might not have slept outside and seen so many meteors.  Thank you Bob. Here’s to the next 33 years.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Even after 33 years of marriage; I still love the man”

  1. I loved reading this story, so well written, Robine, and so full of love. Congratulations to you both. Hope the next 30 is as wonderful and full of adventure as the first.

Leave a Reply

