Helpful Charlie

Another great  weekend (thank you Bob for the time to play with art); lots of unfinished bad art. Did some jewelry design with Liz, played with watecolor pencils, and covered myself with wood stains.  Overall, a weekend dedicated to art and the pursuit for happiness.  Charlie was a big help with the art.  He guarded my colored pencils, ensuring that no one could touch them without his help.  I love the picture of him sleeping in the middle of  my art supplies.  Capturing this picture as a potential oil painting could be the best art I did over the last weekend.

 
So what did I manage to do with with almost unlimited free time.  Design a bit of jewelery, create a water color pencil painting of a tree that needs rework with regular colored pencils, add some color to a play with materials painting, and cover myself with stain.  Thank you Bob for making the time possible.  Without your support, I could not play at being an almost full time art student.

It is fascinating the difference between different brands of watercolor pencils. I have decided that a small set of pental pencils is better than a big set of derwents pencils because the colors are so much more vibrant..  The worm was made with shavings  from the small pental pencils.  The background was very heavy derwent..  The tree below failed in part because I tried to make the tree vibrant with pencils designed for subtle.  Well, truth be told, there were a few misdrawn lines as well and with watercolor pencils—one mistake and the drawing is ruined.  Even regular colored pencils could not help recover the picture.  Finally, the jewelry below.  Had lots of help with that.  Liz dessigned and made the earings for me.  The crow necklace is my designbut I used a new kind of wire and it has already broken.  The last necklace is holding, that was a gift from a friend where I added the rock.     

   

 

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Helpful Charlie”

  1. What a great way to spend your day, and to share it with your daughter makes it even greater. I LOVE the necklace with the rock, but of course, I love rocks of all shapes and sizes and from every source. I’m always bringing stones home from the beach. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

