Sports Bra Advice and other matters

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: Well I never…

Tell us about something you’ve done that you would advise a friend never to do.

First and most important piece of advice: If you sprain your ankle or knee and need to use crutches, don’t wear a sports bra during the first few days.

Your arms will hurt so much that you consider cutting the damm bra off instead of lifting it over your head.  In fact, don’t even bother with a bra, the crutches keep hitting the bands on the side of your chest and cause rubbing.  Instead go for double layers in shirts.

Yep, I’ve been using crutches again for the last few days.  Nothing too serious–slipped and fell on the kitchen floor, spraining my knee.  First day needed the crutches, the second day sort of needed them, and today, the third day, they are my stupid insurance.  You know, the thing that keeps me from doing something stupid like wobbling while walking and really hurting myself badly.

Which leads to the second important piece of advice:  When asked what happened, use only two words “Bar Fight”.

Great answer for everything.  Much better story than the truth, who wants to hear you slipped on a puddle of water in the kitchen.  Makes people laugh and you laugh with them.  And might just raise your street credibility, although in my case I am not sure about that.  People look at me and basically say or think “Right” with a very sarcastic tone.  I mean it could have happened.

Its been one of those weeks where things go askew in very different directions from the basic plans.  Oh well, blame it all  on hormones.  On monday at work, I almost burst into tears when the dammed computer system would not respond.  It was taking too long to find all the network drives.   On tuesday morning, I did break into tears when my pc at home would not find an storage drive.  Decided at that point to take the day off work and go out with my family.  I was not in fit shape to handle the woes of work.

Instead went to Balboa Park to visit museums.  It was free tuesday for the museum of man and the art museum.  Long lines to get into these institutes, but fun.  They are nice, small, and only take an hour to visit even with big crowds.  I can’t imagine paying 12-15 dollars per museum, its a lot of money per person for a small visit.  But the day was great a good restoretive.  I needed that because the rest of the week has been challenging.  First the knee injury and then my annual review at work.

I have defintely gone into dilbert land.  Last february, was told that I was not qualified for a new job that might open up because I didn’t have the title of Lead on my Resume.  Yesterday, I got told that the LEAD position was on grade below my engineering grade and that I didn’t want the job becausee I would have be downgraded.  Which applies–I don’t know.  Doesn’t matter because obviously one manager doesn’t want me in the job.

Plus I got a shitty mid year review.  It doesn’t matter if one is the most productive and doing lots of extra stuff beyond the basic job.  Since I did that last year, it is now expected and part of my job.  Therefore I am barely “meeting expectations”.  But if I had been doing nothing and then started doing something, then I could have the ranking of “exceeding expectations”.  Doesn’t matter anyway, we have a ranking system where everyone gets a 3 out 5 on the final review.  If I were to get a 4 or 5 (godlike or walks on water type review); the company would have to pay me a bonus.  No one has gotten a bonus over the last couple of years, even when they do fantastic things.  And if a person gets a 1 or 2 (totally screwing up or at least doing very badly) the managers get punished and have to do lots of paperwork.  So even those who deserve low scores get a 3.

And that gives me freedom to totally not worry about reviews and scores.  No matter what I do, as long as I do a half decent job, I get a three.  Hurrah.  And that gives me freedom to concentrate on sculptures, art, and writing.  Those are fun things that really make me happy.  The comic strip Luann expressed that perfectly.  So to end this post with a laugh, I give you “Luann”

http://www.gocomics.com/luann

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

