The forces of chaos

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Clean Slate.”

Explore the room you’re in as if you’re seeing it for the first time. Pretend you know nothing. What do you see? Who is the person who lives there?

Looking at my kitchen table, the following items can be seen

  • watercolor pencils, brushes, some half finished drawings
  • a package of wate color coloring post cards
  • a check on top of which are a pen and a paint brush
  • a small square bowl with pencil shavings
  • one pair of spiral wood earings
  • 2 boxes of earrings and jewelry
  • a strange wooden stand
  • a movie — the princess bride
  • bottles of cleaning supplies
  • reading glasses
  • paper towls
  • a bag of oregano
  • napkins
  • headphones
  • two tablets
  • two cups of coffe, now empty
  • two candle stick holders — one with a few small pieces of wax and another with a half burned candle.

As you continue looking around the room, the same eclectic collections of stuff can be seen.  Tools on the kitchen counter next to a small brass pipe and a potato, a jar of milk next to the coffee pot.  The kitchen is the center of our world, the place where everyone hangs out, talks, eats, does their projects.  Even the cats and dogs hang out here, the dog hopeful that a piece of breakfast bacon will fall on the floor.

And so, the table becomes a repository for half finished projects.  A snapshot into the clutter that is my life.  Bob tries to keep things clean and simple, but the forces of chaos are too strong.  And perhaps that’s the way it should be.  There is only a limited amount of time for play while the shoulds, coulds, and ought to’s constantly pile up screaming “I have to be done” and “Do me now”.  Instead, I pick up the earrings and put them on, the spirals and wood grounding me for a day a work.  I look a the wooden table base that needs sanding.  Saturday will be here in a couple of days and just maybe I can finish that table.  With help from Bob.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

