A pager, roll up windows, or ?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Going Obsolete.”

Going Obsolete
Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

A pager?  My life for a pager?  Never had one and they were gone before I knew it.  Of course, it was like a jail sentence for those who had one. So it must be something else that I miss.

Roll up windows with an actual handle?  Those were handy, if the windows were left down during a rainstorm, it was easy to roll them back up without the keys.  And they didn’t break in the same nasty way modern window controls do.  That’s a good candidate for missing the most. But there has to be something more.

Printed books.  Now that is a big thing.  I love printed books.  While it is nice to get a book instantly by downloading, there are many problems with our e-books.  Browsing is not much fun, the ability to find something totally different when you don’t even know what you want or whats available is lost.  No more visiting the bookstore on a Saturday afternoon looking for something new.  Search algorithms give you more of the same, over and over again.  Pages and Pages of crummy reccomendations.  And that old standby — a friend handing you a book with the words “I think you will like this one” doesn’t happen anymore.  So I stopped reading for pleasure.  But that’s good for the art projects.  More time to work on painting and sculptures.  So it must be something else I miss the most.

I think my choice for the technology I will miss the most is an IPOD classic.  That classic device which holds 120 or more gigabytes of music, stories, and italian love lingo lessons.  It was almost the perfect device and they killed it.  Not enough money.  Someday, I dream that a replacement will be made.  Pono I’m watching your reviews.  Perhaps you will grow up and become the replacement for my beloved IPOD classic when it dies.  Easy to use, preferably without ITUNES software, holds tons of music, and great quality sound.   A market that Apple abandoned when they killed the IPOD classic.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “A pager, roll up windows, or ?”

  1. My iPod classic goes with me everywhere. We still user pagers here in Australia in the hospital system and on large construction sites. I agree with your lamentation about the decline of real books and being handed a book recommended by someone with similar reading tastes. Great reflection 🙂 Linda

Leave a Reply

