Bob’s Birthday Game

And now for some historical pictures. The game is guess what happened and where. Answers below each picture.

bob2

Yep, that’s the Mark Twain Steamer from Disneyland in the background. Picture was taken on July 19th in 2008. Bob and Maggie went by themselves, so Maggie must have taken this picture. He looks very handsome with that shirt, I’ll have to look for a replacement. But I’m not going back to Disneyland anytime in the near future. The charm of the place has disappeared with increasing crowds, high prices, getting rid of all the musicians, and generally adopting “profits first” motto. Too bad, it was fun for many years.

Dec26025

This was probably taken in 2004. We stopped at the park next to Empressa Elementary school on the way to Christmas Dinner. Had a new big model airplane made from wire and cloth to fly. It actually flew although not well. The airplane might still be up in the shelves of our garage, it never worked well. But we had a lot of fun that day. Liz was wearing a skirt I made. Looks nice, I’ll have to try making a few more lace skirts like that one. DSC00690

In October 2010, Bob and I had a wonderful vacation courtesy of my parents. They took us to Rome as part of their 50th anniversary celebration. As part of the tour, there was a special tour of the Vatican followed by dinner in one of their large halls. Amazing artwork and statuary everywhere. One of the highlights of that evening was one of the dinner guests started singing afterwards in the hall. She had been an opera singer with a dream of singing someday in the Vatican. Her voice was fantastic and acoustics in this hall very good. DSCN23

Earlier in the day, I had a similar peak auditory adventure when Bob and I rested on benches in a park and listened to the birds sing in the oak trees. We also took pictures of ourselves posing as statues and in general had a wonderful walk in park.  Don’t remember the name of this park, but it’s the big one on top of a hill that eventually leads to the Spanish Steps in Rome.

Bob and I had 3 weeks in Italy—visiting Rome and Venice. October was a great month, no crowds and good weather. Rome is like an adult Disneyland. It’s hard to get from one place to another since every corner holds a new treasure. Venice was exotic, cold, expensive, and exhausting. I am glad to have visited but don’t want to go back unless I have tons of money. My favorite place in Italy was at Ostica. Old harbor city with lovely old vegetation. Umbrella trees are fantastic, one of my favorite memories was sitting in a field of wild thyme looking, 2000 year old buildings, and an airplane flying above those old tall trees. IMG_0125

From 2004 take your child to work day, Kate was only 7 years old. Yep, that was science at it’s best. She had a great day going to work at Raytheon with her dad. It was hard on me, I took time off the day before to bring her up to my parent’s house in Los Angeles. And then left at 4:30 am for my job in San Diego.

IMG_6061

Picture of Man and Cat. Charlie loves to be around people and often wants to be held. He has a big powerful purr. A fairly recent picture, Bob is sitting in our kitchen after dinner.

IMG_6071

After thanksgiving, 2013; Liz was heading back to school in New Mexico. We went early and stopped at Cabrillo National Monument. There was an incredible sunset, I love the light on their faces.

IMG_6182

Summer of 2014, Oban, Scotland. Great ice cream shop; this photo of Liz and Bob will become part of a painting someday. After I learn how to draw / paint people. Called the Pokey Pony, it had lines out the door. While waiting for them, I saw a taxi cab driver pull up front, double park, run in past the line, pick up a cone, and walk out without paying. He must have been a regular with a tab at that shop.

IMG_6812

Mother Earth, Vista, 2013. Probably a glass of Kismet IPA beer. Was playing around with my IPAD and got this great shot of Bob’s hands. It’s going to be one of my next paintings.

 IMG_6900

 This picture was taken last year at Del Mar Dog Beach. Lovely sunset, this photo is unique because there are NO dogs in it. The beach was covered in happy barking, racing dogs; ours included. Elly is always one of the dirtiest dogs at the beach. She loves to run into the water, get wet all over, and then go roll in dry sand. So every trip to the dog beach ends with a dog getting washed. IMG_6901

Long day. We arrived at Lewis Island in the outer Hebrides, Scotland earlier that day. Then lots of fussing around with getting a car followed by a tour around the local area by our landlord. It was after lunch and we were all hungry. So Kate, Bob, and I walked downtown to find something for lunch. Cold outside we took refuge in a lively restaurant. Great food although I can’t remember what I ate. IMG_6902

Not sure when this was taken although it was after I got my new camera in May 2014. Maybe June although I didn’t think we were doing anything fun that month. I was having trouble walking at that period, remember having issues with stairs. It was a Sunday morning, we got very lucky and snagged a parking spot right next to the catholic church. Since the Museum of Modern Art didn’t open for an hour, we had lunch at the restaurant next door. I had a carrot soup that was fantastic, need to try making some. Since it took so long for the lunch to arrive, the waiter gave Bob a free cup of soup. Enjoyed the exhibits, there were some interesting art pieces on loan from a museum in Mexico City, Mexico. IMG_6903

One of the early photos of Elly with Bob. I think it is part of Brengle Terrace, but am not certain. It is part of my Man and Dog Series. I have dozens of good pictures on this them and someday some of them will get painted.

IMG_6904

Taken in 2012, Elly was just a puppy at the time. About 6 months old, she had not yet grown into her shaggy coat. IMG_6905

Bob flying an airplane at Brindejon. Taken during the great solar eclipse party in May 2012.

Kate&DadaHelicopeter

Going back a few years, this picture was taken in Hawaii in November 2008. We used my parents time share points to get a condo on Kauai for a wonderful week long holiday. For sitting through a time share lecture, we got one free ride on a helicopter. Bob and Kate went, I’m scared of heights. And because they were both slender and Kate was so small, both were seated in the front. Kate got the center seat. Evidently the ride was fantastic, one of the best parts of the trip. I want go back to Hawaii, but still don’t have any desire to ride in a helicopter. legoland

Even Older, this picture from Legoland was taken in June 2004. Maggie was 14 years old and still loved playing with legos. I think the procession of cows was her doing.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

