Bob’s Birthday — Part 1

Following a long standing (ok at least once before) tradition; this post celebrates Bob’s birthday. By tradition, this post has to be done late—too busy celebrating life as it happens.  Stories and photos are essential.  So Happy Belated Birthday and enjoy.

Last week Bob and I went out sailing on his birthday. Lovely day, the San Diego Harbor was deserted. Of course there were some tense moments, such as when Bob asked me to do something and I replied “Do what?” or “I haven’t done that”. It doesn’t help that I’m scared when the sail boats tip on their sides. The first time we had sailed together, so the event was a learning process. Bob looks really happy after our sailing adventure.  Obviously we have to learn how to sail together.  And I have to study and remember parts of the boat and standard sailing commands.  Oh well, that’s part of the fun of learning how to sail.  Bob of course got finished in a few weeks.  I hope to get certified sooner than the guy who needed 17 lessons and eventually had his money refunded.

P1040426

After sailing, we had dinner at Pizza Port in Carlsbad. Unbelievable crowds. At almost 9 pm on a Thursday Evening, the place was so crowded we had to share a table. Lines were long, 30 minutes to get a beer. Where are all the people coming from? Don’t they have to work? But it was fun. There were some very friendly people who sat next to us. I have almost no idea what they were saying because the place was so noisy; but they seemed very pleased to be talking with us. One lady even pulled out pictures of her children and grandchildren from her wallet.

P1040436

P1040438

Interesting fact about Bob’s birthday was that it coincided with a Grunion Run. Our first date was going grunion running. We were set up by a mutual friend named Kevin. He asked me if I wanted to go, said that Bob would be delighted to give me a ride since he didn’t live too far away. I said sure. He then went to Bob and asked him if he could give me a ride to the Grunion Expedition up in Malibu. Bob was living up in Mar Vista, Los Angeles. And I lived with my parents in Rolling Hills Estates. 25 miles from Bob’s place to my house. 35 miles to the grunion run. If I had known what the distances were, I would never have accepted the ride.

Our second date was going to the Los Angeles Zoo on Sunday. Lunch included fried grunions. Even at the time I recognized that cold fried grunion are a disgusting dish.  To Bob’s credit, he ate them. And I remember that going to the zoo was fun.  We had a great day.  I think that was his birthday or was that the third date.

Anyway, our romance almost got ended by his birthday celebration. I took him to Farrell’s Ice Cream Parlor in ‘Redondo Beach. Didn’t know him well or would have realized this was a BIG mistake. Bob loves ice cream, but hates noisy birthday fusses. And Farrell’s was known for big fusses–Sirens, drums, processions, singing by the entire staff and other guests, huge candles on an ice cream Sunday. Later I learned that he almost stopped seeing me based on that event. Glad he didn’t—we’ve had a few great years together. More than a few since this happened in 1980.

Anyway, tradition (i.e. done at least once before) requires some historical photos and stories to celebrate a birthday.  Tonight, the whole computer / photo / story stuff is bad.  Nothing seems to be working.   So look tomorrow for the photo story game.  I present historical photos and you try to guess the story.  It’s not a hard game, stories come below the photos.

And in the meantime

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY BOB!

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

