Misadventures at home

So today several interesting misadventures happened at home.  First was the fire.  While Bob was cutting wood with our table saw, smoke and flames began coming from inside under the blade.  OH NO.  Bob got scared, turned off the saw and the vacuum collecting all the dust.  That stopped the fire in the table and he worked on cleaning up the mess.  But then smoke and flames began rising from the shop vac.  Oh No.  A very scary moment.

Bob dragged the vacuum outside and drowned it with water.  Fire all gone.  Total damage, one shop vac.  It looks like a piece of wood fell into the table saw and got stuck.  That prevented the sawdust from exiting creating a fire hazard.  Then the fast rotating blade created a friction fire in the sawdust.  And when he turned off the saw first, the vacuum sucked embers inside where the sawdust burst into flame.

But that wasn’t all that happened today.  Charlie ate my dinner–turkey mole–which sounds like it would have been delicious.  Instead I came home and had a sandwich for a late dinner.  And Elly got the turkey carcas, dragged it into our bedroom, and then pretended to be a little lady with her paws tucked over the bones when Bob walked into the room.  She didn’t want to come out for a walk.  But when Bob insisted she come, out trotted one dog with turkey carcas in mouth.  And just now, my family is pigging out on brownies that need to be eaten in bowls while Kate shrieks about PMS and a need for chocolate.  At least my life is not dull 

   
  

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

