Some interesting articles and sad commentaries on our society

Daily Prompt: Flip Flop
Think of a topic or issue about which you’ve switched your opinion. Why the change?

Flip Flop or more liberal than ever.  If you look at my life style, I would be declared republican.  Middle class family that traditionally voted republican.  I work in defense industry where most people vote republican.  I live in a very conservative community where most declare themselves christian and rebuplican with pride.  Raised three kids in a middle class neighborhood.  But I am very liberal in viewpoint.  As a woman working in a traditionally male field, I have seen and felt the effects of discrmination.  As  a student, I learned how fragile our safety net is and how close anyone person can come to being homeless.    

There is a strong element of luck in our circumstances.  The myth that we make our own way ony works if you have a strong support structure that does not demand being acknowledges.  Good schools paid with taxes so  one does not have to take out massive amounts of debt.  Jobs that are plentifyl and pay well.  Famly that can help you during the dark ties.  Everyone has a bad spot in their lives.  It’s the help you get to overcome those hard times  which makes all the difference. That help might be direct like aid payments, a job from a friend, or moving into family homes.  It can be indirect, the help of a teacher lighing up a summer job where you don’t even know that person spoke up for you.  

So in terms of politics I am not flip flopping and in fact my liberal views are becoming stronger over time.  All it takes are a few more articles like these in the news:

This morning I was reading the New York Times.  One statitics popped out at me.  A summer jobs program in Chicago for at risk teens — those at the cusp of dropping out and / or already in trouble either with the law or becoming teenage parents — saw a 43% reduction in violent crimes in the following 16 months.  That’s huge.  An investment of 2-3 thousand dollars per kid saved our society hundreds of thousands of dollars in court costs, jail, and police costs.  Plus the very significant positive impact on many lives.  

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/03/opinion/sunday/david-l-kirp-another-chance-for-teens.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&module=c-column-top-span-region®ion=c-column-top-span-region&WT.nav=c-column-top-span-region
It turns out that these jobs helped the kids learn how to connect with society at a crucial point in their development.   Something that is contrary to the common belief system — once bad, always bad.  And that those kids were born bad.  It is no useful helping them.  Well I don’t believe those statements.  I wonder how we can help them.  Something to ponder and research.  Any good ideas on how to help, please let me know.
Second article was from my daughter, Maggie, on her blog.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2015/05/02/403865824/texas-governor-deploys-national-guard-to-stave-off-obama-takeover
Lets play a game. Real news story or an article from the Onion?

Read it and let me know what you think.  That is pretty wild and credible.  Not only is NPR a reputable news source, but it’s all over reputible places — cnn, forbes, cbs, and more.  Evidently there are a large number of people in Texas who believe the federal government, through the department of defense military exercises, is gong to take over Texas..  WOW, wackos do rule the world or at least Texas.  I always knew that was a state where I could not survive the politics.   I learned that during the Rick Perry regime. 


Finaly news brief inolves women’s boodies.  Being overweight, I am well aware of what fat shaming is and how much pressure there is on women to be “attrive and thin”.  A very trim fitness instructor writes a blog about fitness.  And she has been getting lots of nasty comments about her weight, her shape, and her ability as a woman to be iintelligent when she is so unfit.

http://www.blogilates.com

Fed up with these comments, she made a video and photo-shopped her body into the blospace ideal.  One of the beter articles about this viedo can be found at:

http://www.today.com/style/photoshop-video-proves-there-no-perfect-body-t16936

The really sad commentary was that many of those who posted the nasty comments thought the photoshoped cartoon figure was the correct way for a woman to look.  

It may seem there are no positive messages for women and their body shapes.  But there are some.   Cassey Ho has been overwhelmed by the positive response to her video.  I am glad she deserves udos for speaking up against trolls who wwant to slap women down into nothingness.

An interesting experiment done several years ago by Dove produced some very moving videos about women and their self perception.   I still enjoy watching these videos where a forensic artist shows women their true selves. 

http://realbeautysketches.dove.us

Watching these videos gives me a boost.  And I can always play one of my favorite songs by Helen Ready  “I  am Woman”   That has been one of my theme songs for most of my life.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUBnxqEVKlk&sns=em

I am woman, hear me roar
In numbers too big to ignore
And I know too much to go back an’ pretend
‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
And I’ve been down there on the floor
No one’s ever gonna keep me down again
Oh yes, I am wise
But it’s wisdom born of pain
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong
(Strong)
I am invincible
(Invincible)
I am woman
You can bend but never break me
‘Cause it only serves to make me
More determined to achieve my final goal
And I come back even stronger
Not a novice any longer
‘Cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul
Oh yes, I am wise
But it’s wisdom born of pain
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong
(Strong)
I am invincible
(Invincible)
I am woman
I am woman watch me grow
See me standing toe to toe
As I spread my lovin’ arms across the land
But I’m still an embryo
With a long, long way to go
Until I make my brother understand
Oh yes, I am wise
But it’s wisdom born of pain
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can face anything
I am strong
(Strong)
I am invincible
(Invincible)
I am woman
I am woman
I am invincible
I am strong
I am woman
I am invincible
I am strong
I am woman

Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/helen-reddy/i-am-woman-lyrics/#icjhfRDUpDmOsqdF.99

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Some interesting articles and sad commentaries on our society”

Leave a Reply

