Holy Moly, Alfred came to visit

Last night while Bob was doing the dishes, he suddenly stopped.  “Holy Moly, Robine come look.  No wait, let me get the camera.”  I sat at the kitchen table wondering what was going on with my husband.  After much commotion, Bob found his camera and came back to tell me there was a lizard crawling out of the dish washer. 

Now how often does a lizard crawl out of a dishwasher?  Not often in my experience.  So this was a big event in the household.  Meanwhile Charlie, the great bug hunter and defender of all  that happens in the kitchen, was calmy eating food only a foot away from this Lizard.  Charlie loves hunting lizards.  And if only he had known what was sitting right below him, calm cat food crunching would have stopped.  Charlie has twice in his life (at least to my knowledge) caught a lizard.  One of those occasions, Bob took one away before it got killed and Charlie spent weeks hissing at us in anger.  

Posing for a photograph session, Alfred the lizard, remained still until we finished taking snapshots.  Several are below for your viewing pleasure.  Bob then opened the dishwasher and pulled out one very lively lizard.  Alfred immediately climbed onto his back.  Elly began barking.  Charlie began leaping.  Sophia began hissing at Elly who bothered her.  Bob shouted “Help me, open the door, where is the lizard”.  I opened the door to let him out.  And then in my confusion, immediately began turning off the lights.  Big Help I was, not.  Bob got outside and the lizard leaped to the garage floor.  The cats were screeching, the dog barking, and I was trying to be helpful.  Alfred, the lizard was scurrying around on the floor of the garage.  “Not the shovel” Bob yelped.  “We don’t want to kill the poor thing.”  “I only want to pick up the lizard and help him get outside” I yelled.  But Bob was right, so I put the shovel down and went in the house.  We left the lizard alone as it scurried under the woodpile.  I hope he finds his way to safety and food.

And now for the photos.  Enjoy both the lizard and the great view of Bob’s Hands.  I like them.





Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Holy Moly, Alfred came to visit”

Leave a Reply

