Welding a new house

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If I Had a Hammer.”

If you could learn a trade — say carpentry, electrical work, roofing, landscaping, plumbing, flooring, drywall — you name it — what skill(s) would you love to have in your back pocket?

Interesting this prompt appeared today, because yesterday I was wondering about welding and using a torch on metal.  Specifically, building a house from shipping containers.  A single container, 10 feet by 40 feet and 12 feet high costs about 2000 dollars or perhaps as cheap as 1000 dollars if in poor shape.  Buy several of these containers, stack them artistically, and you suddenly have the foundation for a very sturdy house.  But the house needs doors, windows, and walls.  And that means cutting holes and welding various walls together. All this can be done with fire — hot torches to cut the holes and melt metals together.  Sounds like fun; the ultimate playing with matches experience.

Or perhaps I should learn how to make a house out of straw.  They are supposed to be great for the desert–lovely thick walls holding out the heat of the day and the cold of the night.  Then I need to become a drywall and stucco expert.  Making beautiful walls with wonderful ledges for sitting and sleeping upon.  Places where one can watch the world or grow a garden of plants.  Built in nooks for storage.  All of this with wonderful wooden floors and high wooden beams in the ceiling.  A courtyard in the middle with big porches, like the classical mission and hacienda style from early spanish and mexican settlers in california.

Why a new house when I have a perfectly fine house already?  I want a house where I can see the stars at night, especially the milky way.  Yeah, I can see some stars although the number is far less than out in the country like my mother and dad’s home.  Its a city view of the stars, one or two peaking through the clouds; the ones bright enough to stand out against all that light from the neighbors.   I want a complex, a place where I can have friends and family come stay for months at a time and yet still have privacy.  I want an art studio with spaces for storage, a room dedicated to messy projects, and a place to show off my work.

Or maybe I stay where I am and become a scupltor.  Fill the yard with bronze statues.  A dragon cat and a giant mouse big enough for kids to climb.  Smaller fountains and hidden animals under Bob’s garden.  Learn to cast concrete statues and cover them with mosaics like Queen Califa’s garden in Escondido.  But unfortunately first breakfast and then work call.  So the lovely daydreams need to be put back in the box.  Later I can take them out again and play.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Welding a new house”

  1. I vote for building a house in the country. Containers are probably the cheapest way to go, but I wonder about the insulation necessary to keep temperatures comfortable. You need to see the stars and hear the animals howl, hoot and snort at night. I’ll definitely come and stay for as long as you’ll have me!!

Leave a Reply

