Celebrating the spring equinox

Yesterday was a great event in the astronomical calendar.  There was a solar eclipse on the same day as a spring equinox.  Of course we couldn’t see the eclipse down here in southern california.  But I did get to see some great video clips.  Especially liked the ones from EAS (European Space Agency) and on the Guardian showing the partial eclipse through clouds over the Edinburg castle.  Newspapers were also talking about a supermoon, but I don’t understand how there can be a supermoon during a new moon at least in terms of viewing it. 

So, down here in Vista, we had very low key celebrations of the Equinox.  At work we had a face painting and cake decorating demonsration during lunch.  I was lucky to be the model for part of the demonstration and got a wonderful butterfly across my face.  Yes, I did return to work with that design.  Interesting how many people were afraid to say anything.  Those who knew me fairly well were not that surprised and they happily put frosting on graham crackers.  Turns out that both art forms are fairly easy and fun.  I liked doing both and could enjoy learning more.  But facepaints will take some investment, evidently it is important to buy good quality face specific paints.  Then use makeup sponges and artist quailty brushes for application.  There are tons of great patterns on the internet making it easy to learn. 



Then last night, Bob and I had a fire outside.  We cooked Jiffy Pop–the same one from christmas time.  Had planned on doing it with kids during the winter solstice.  But it was raining then.  Planned on duing at the midpoint celebration on Feb 1st, St. Bridgid’s day in Ireland and many other names / celebrations thorugout the celtic world.  But we didn’t because I was sick.  So yesterday was the first chance to cook the jiffy pop and we almost failed.   Since I was worried about putting a plastic pan over the fire, Bob started checking out the construction.  At one point the entire jiffy pop pan was held by a single point of wire with a loop from the pan edge above.  Reconstructed the pan and then burned the bottom of the pan.  There were some good kernals.  Even Elly likes popcorn.

Finished the evening by sleeping outside in Charlies Shanty.  Bob had put a cot out there for me and I enojed listening to the both the quiet at 2 am and the birds at 4 am.  Charlie and Sophie were excited, this was something different to have a human sleeping outside in Charlies room during the middle of the night.  Very cool, very lovely; I will have to do that again.  But now I have to go clean up the mess, so this blog post ends.  Happy Spring to everyone.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “Celebrating the spring equinox”

  1. Happy Spring Robine! You look beautiful as a butterfly lady. Never thought I’d see you with makeup on, but this is exceptional! Miss you.

Leave a Reply

