Small Bits of News

Life continues on at the Lewis household.  Many small things (good and bad) that make an ordinary life rich.  Enjoy these stories.
 
Charlie.  Created a new outdoor hammock for him.  He likes it when put into the hammock.  However as of Sunday afternoon, he had not yet conquered the getting into bed process.  It was really hot this last weekend; so Bob moved a cot into Charlie’s shanty for me.  On Saturday night, I woke up about 2 am, hot and grouchy.  Went out to this nice cool cot and laid down with a pillow and blanket.  Ah, bliss.  And then Charlie tried to climb into his hammock.  And I was terrified.  I kept waiting for him to fall out and fall down on my face.  It reminded me of a backpacking trip with Bob many years ago.
 
We were camping up in the Sierra’s at the top of  a pass.  Very steep, very long hard day; we set up the tent in the only flat spot not directly on the trail.  There was one tree suitable for hanging the food bags.  At that time, the advice was counterbalance; hanging food backs about 10 feet above ground.  Use a stick in the morning to push one bag up higher and the other bag down lower.  Bob hung the bags and I cooked dinner.  It got cold and dark; we went to bed.  Laid down, looked up, and there were those dammed bags swinging over our heads.  Too cold or dark to do anything, so we went to sleep hoping a bear would not step on our faces.  Awoke the next morning; pleased to be alive, in one piece, and with intact food bags.  Neither of us has ever forgotten that terror.

But this evening, Bob told me that Charlie lounged in his hammock earlier today.  And tonight, the big bug hunter has been actively clearing our kitchen of moths.  Terror of a different kind as he leaps everywhere after the bugs. Everything is fair game as a launching post for bugs.  The top of a fridge, table top, my head, bob’s shoulders, and even the dogs back are good places from which to leap. It is dangerous in our kitchen tonight.
 
Lost Badges.  Today I get to wear the Turkey Badge, the badge of shame at work.  Don’t know who started called it a turkey badge, but the temporary badges have a big T on the front.  Plus the added shame that it doesn’t work for many of the secured doors, meaning I have to wait for someone to let me into my work areas.  Yuck.  Wore it home on Friday (yes I did get to work and yes I left early despite the word road trip) where I safely put it away.  Where, I don’t know.  Hope I can find it tonight otherwise I’ll have to get a new badge of shame tomorrow.
 
Cheap dates.  Bob and I went out for dinner on Friday night.  We were very extravagant and ate as Costco.  Even splurged for something besides the $1.49 soda and hot dog.  Yeah.  It was fun.  Better yet, it drives Kate crazy.  “How can you call that a date?”.  “That’s not a date, you should go out for a real dinner.”  But we did splurge and get some great things. I got a couple packages of new socks.  Elly got some dog bones and beef jerky for her training classes. And Bob got a big bag of pistachios and a jar of cashews.  We all scored except the cats.  However, they got the smoked trout that I had not eaten in a timely manner, so life was good for them too.  And then Elly afterwards got a lovely fish skin.  Scored again!
 
Art Projects:  Spent lots of time working on projects. Bob finished a really cool microscope for a smart phone camera.  Using the lens from a laser pointer, he created a structure that uses the camera to display microscopic images.  Kate happily took this structure over to grandma’s before I got to play with it.  Guess she liked it.  I got to my oil painting class on Saturday morning.  Get to use colors now, will write a seperate post showing off the pictures.  Afterwards, had a friend come over to help me build bow tying tools.  You know those 10 dollar per decorative bow you can buy at Micheals craft stores.  Well my friend will be teaching a class at work later on how to make them for about 1 dollar apiece.  They take a simple tool of several short posts close together to hold the ribbon before tying.  The best part of the afternoon was making these tools.  We got to use POWERTOOLS.  Yep,  a circular saw and a drill press.  Bob taught us.  And then we went to work–measuring, cutting, and drilling holes. Way cool.  So much fun, my friend went home and told her husband she needed a drill press.  We both like using powertools.
 
Turkey Dinner:  Mary was given a turkey.  She gave it to Bob.  Earlier in the week, Kate said we were being selfish for always going to Mary’s house for dinner on Sunday.  Ok.  Easy.  We decided to cook the turkey on Sunday for family dinner.  That was Friday.  Then the weekend got hot.  Hot, really hot, temperatures in the high 90’s.  Sunday we get a call offering sandwiches at Mary’s house.  Now she has air conditioning and we do not.  So this question was a comment about how hot it might be for dinner at our house.  Moreover, given that Bob was roasting a turkey for almost 4 hours, that was a valid concern.  Nevertheless, we did not back down and made everyone come to our house for dinner.  It turned out great.  First time Bob has done an entire turkey dinner including gravy and everything tasted wonderful.  Used the second best china and silverware, table clothes, and fancy wine glasses.  Outside, the weather was lovely.  An ice chest filled with ice cubes and cold drinks helped immensely.  

Doggy Education:  Elly got busted back to basic training.  The problem — demand barking and jumping on women she thought might give her food.  So Bob has taken her back to the basic dog training from Liz Palika at Kindred Spirits.  Since lessons are on Saturdays at the same time as Oil  Painting, Mary has been going instead of me.  Well Elly has not been learning much, but her grandmom Mary has learned how to not feed her. And Bob has been asking lots of questions.  On Saturday  Bob asked how to stop her from digging.  As reported by Bob, the conversation went as follows:  “What kinds of digging?” Liz asked.  “Gophers” Bob responded.  “Well that’s too bad, there isn’t much

 
Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

