The word of the day is roadtrip

Roadtrip.  Roadtrip.  Roadtrip.  If I repeat this word enough maybe I’ll be able to go to work and enjoy it.  Today is friday, an off friday at my workplace.  No one will be there except me.  And I am only there to make up the hours from my trip last week.  I was really happy to visit my parents and look forward to doing it again.  But that does not translate into my being happy about going to work on what should be a three day weekend.  So I repeat the word ROADTRIP.

What roadtrip represents is time with Bob.  Liz graduates, actually all three girls have a graduation ceremony this spring.  Mags and Liz have their ceremonies on the same day in two different states.  Thankfully, Kates graduation is local and in June, so attendance is easy.  For a variety of reasons,  many of them relating to laziness in planning trips, we are not going to Maggie’s master of science ceremony in State College, Penn State, PA.   Instead we buy her off with a graduation present of first and last months rent, something she thinks is pretty awesome.  And now we are figuring out how to attend Liz’s ceremony.  My preference is a roadtrip.

When Liz was deciding which school to attend, UNM (University of New Mexico) seemed like the best deal.  Not only was it the cheapest; but California schools were being substantially impacted by the recession.  Constant budget cuts, overcrowded classes, and impacted schedules where a five year or six year bacholers degree seemed all too common.  In contrast, UNM offered the ability to get the classes needed at a school with a great rating at half the cost.  What was there not to like? besides the fact that it was 1000 miles (or so) away from home.  So I took Liz on a roadtrip to see the school, part of my strong-arm techniques.  She had applied simply because I had asked her to do so based on cost.  And then she got accepted with a great scholarship.

So we took a roadtrip to UNM–Liz and I.  It was great.  We had a wonderful time, saw some great sights, and bought my first piece of metal sculpture.   I loved the shop we stoppped at before seeing Salt Canyon.  I think the shop was called the copper pickle (perhaps Liz remembers the name).  There were signs all over the roads leading to this shop.  There Liz got a great bracelet with copper, gold, and silver strands.  And I bought Bob a piece of copper artwork — a beautiful Gecco which now hangs in our hall in our house.  At the school, we took a tour where the most memorable moment was Liz asking the guide about snow.  He said that it snowed a few times per year, usually melting by noon.  Liz was excited about snow being a proper southern california girl who had never seen it snow. The other participants in the tour were from Minnesota and excited that the snow melted.

On the way back, we stopped at a rock shop in Quartzite.  It was memorable and I want to go back.  So I am willing to endure days of driving just to visit a rock shop.  Plus the joy of another roadtrip with Bob.  I like that kind of trip; getting in the car and just driving away to the next destination.  We get to spend a few days in may going to Albuquerque before attending the graduation.  Yes, I look forward to those days.  It will be a great vacation.  Then a couple a days watching Liz graduate and helping her deal with four years of life accumulation.  Bob and Liz (the lucky ducks) then are going on an extended road trip, possibly to CArlsbad Caverans.  And I the not so lucky duck have a long drive home.  But still it is a roadtrip and I love them in all forms.  I’ll get to spend a couple days listening to some great book on tape and driving where I want.  I’ll build enough slack into the schedule that if I decided to spend 3 days driving home, it’s ok.  And that needs PTO — the vaction time hours from work.  

So because I need PTO hours, I will go to work on my off-friday and make up the vaction tie from last monday.  But you will understand if I chant the word “Roadtrip” to myself during the day.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “The word of the day is roadtrip”

  1. “Roadtrip” is one of my favorite words as well. I have fond memories of the trip that my mom and I took before I went off to college many years ago. That word is what gets me through the days now, planning and plotting future roadtrips (hopefully a short one is coming up in April!).

Leave a Reply

