Apple Pies

Daily Prompt:Too Big To Fail
Tell us about something you would attempt if you were guaranteed not to fail (and tell us why you haven’t tried it yet).

When I went up to visit my parents, Bob sent a pastie.  It was frozen when I left in the morning, carefully wrapping the pie in a big towel and putting it in it’s own special grocery bag.  Carry on baggage, this pie fit perfectly under the seat and arrived at my parents house about 7 hours later still frozen.  Mom cooked the pie and it came out fantastic as described in my last post.

So yesterday, it was time to return home and Mom had to return the favor.  She taught me how make her perfect apple pie.  All the tricks–using egg as a sealer, cooking a carmel sauce, how to seal the pie, create a parchment bag, cook at multiple temperatures.  It was the first time in many many years were we had cooked together.  I enjoyed this activity and wish we had done more earlier.  Next time I come visit; cooking together has to be part of the plans.

Anyway, the pie came out of the over at a quarter to 1 pm.  Hot, delicious smelling, and perfect looking.  Wrapped up that pie in aluminum foil and the same towel used to bring a pastie pie to them.  And off to the airport I went.  The security guard at TSA tried to rearrange my pie — “please dont put the bag on it’s side; that’s a hot apple pie from my mom”.  He left the bag alone and no one needed to inspect it.  Called Bob to tell him that I had frozen store bought pasties and apple pie for dinner.  Other passengers said I should be sharing.  No deal. That pie came home still warm and looking perfect.  We ate some for dinner last night.

I have never made a pie as good as that one.  Thank you mom for sharing the secrets.  Delicous, warm, beautiful carmel sauce, and picture perfect.  I did something new.

Mom’s Apple Pie

Ingredients

Pastry for double pastry crust

1/2 cup unsalted butter

3 tablespoons of flour

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

8 granny smith apples

shot of vanilla

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

1 egg

Steps

1.  turn on over to 425 degrees, let it preheat

2. roll pastry dough for bottom crust and put into the pie pan.  Take an egg and beat it in a cup with a little bit of water.  use a brush to generously paint the bottom of the pie pan with egg mixture.

3.  prepare the caremel sauce.  Melt butter over low heat.  Add flour and stir until there are no lumps.  Add water.  Add sugars and spices.  Stir until everything is mixed and then let it cook on a low heat, stirring occasionaly.

4.  Prepare apples.  Peel and slice into small pieces.  Heap in middle of pie pan.

5.  Pour the sauce over the apples slowly.  The sauce should sink into the apples.

6.  Put the second crust over the appples.  Seal the pie crusts.  Make slits and then paint the top crust with egg wash.

7.  Make a parchment paper bag for the entire pie.  Use a stapler to close the sides.

8.  Bake at 425 for 15 minutes.  Then turn down the head and bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes.  Check half way during the cooking, you may want to open the parchment paper bag and let it brown more.  Or not as you please.

9.  When done, remove from oven and enjoy.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

3 thoughts on “Apple Pies”

  1. It is funny how language differs between countries. “pastie” had me laughing for a good few minutes and I was completely confused as to how it would relate to a pie. I think I get it now. I am allergic to apples and therefore cannot try your pie but thank you for the inadvertant laugh of the morning 🙂

    1. Glad you had a good laugh. Pastie’s are actually cornish meat pies. Or so I am told. It’s been a family recipe for generations starting with my great grandparents and then grandfather who actually worked in the gold mines in Grass Valley California and other nearby areas.

Leave a Reply

