Charlies Grand Adventure, Oh My! And Friends.

Last Monday night, I woke up to the yowl of a cat. Sophia, who was tucked in my arms was frantic. She climbed out, checked all the windows and even went outside into the cat cage. Then back into the house, racing around checking all the windows. Now sophia is a thin coated siamese who gets cold easily, she does not normally even consider going outside at night. So her actions caught my attention. But there had been only one yowl, so we both went back to sleep. Later, the cat yowl repeated along with a couple of meow’s and other such noises. Again, sophia repeated her check of all windows and the cat cages. And then we both went back to sleep.

Tuesday morning, I was really tired. Had gone to bed way too late and had not slept well. Coffee was the most important first step and I took my cup outside. To my surprise, Charlie was outside. I must have let him out about eleven when I took the trash outside. He came in an exhausted wretch, not even carrying about breakfast. Went to sleep and didn’t move until 3:30 in the afternoon

It had been him howling in the night. No wonder Sophia was upset, she recognized the cry. And she knew he belonged in the house. Were they friends or not, I don’t know. But obviously she keeps track of him. They often sleep close to each other. And don’t mind being together most of the time. In fact, all the animals keep track of each other. The family pack is a dynamic fluid grouping of cats and a dog; all of whom want to be as close to as many humans as possible. Or touching their favorite human.

On Tuesday morning, I was feeling blue. Tired and slightly down, I felt like I had no friends and a purposeless life. I am always trying to do too much and when I don’t get it all done, feel bad about that fact. Most of that was exhaustion and overwork. Add in what seems like constant illness and bronchitis to exaggerate all feelings. But yesterday proved my fears about friendship are all wrong in multiple ways.

First I wrote a post and got back a very nice comment from a good friend. Thanks Marianne, I love hearing from you. It’s a wonderful moral boost. We need to get together soon, it’s been too long.

Later in the day, I was still not doing great. But my two “Arnold Time” companions came by. These two guys go to the gym twice a week and they let me tag along. Not only tag along, but when I said I was tired and didn’t want to go, they both reminded me that there was no art class if I didn’t get at least three exercise sessions. And they don’t consider a classroom experience on sailing as an exercise session. Of course with that kind of nagging, I went to the gym and did my 30+ minutes of the stationary bike and other exercises. Finished before the two guys and went out to the lobby of my work building where the gym was to wait.

There I ran into several women friends–all of whom were delighted to see me and all of whom said we need to make time to get together. Carolyn might go to the Saturday art class. We see each other at our creative collections club at work — an excuse to get together and do some kind of craft with Northrop paying for materials. It is training and professional development, various people take turns teaching a new art skill. Next week, we make birds nest pendants with wire and fresh water pearls. I will see Bonita and Leila there. I was happy to see these ladies.

And I also heard from Suzie and she wants me to go out for lunch with her on Sunday. Of course she has an ulterior motive, she wants to pick up a custom dress from a vendor at the Encinitas Sunday fair and can’t walk there yet with her broken foot. But really, its an excuse to get together with one of my oldest friends in San Diego. We met at BAE Systems when I was 9 months pregnant with Elizabeth. She came in for an interview and we both got along well. After a brief maternity leave, she became my lunch buddy. You know its a good friendship when going to home depot at lunch to buy a toilet repair kit is fun.

By the end of the day, there had been so many reminders of the love and friendship in my life. It ended at dinner with Bob and Kate and too many animals. We had as always the procession of the cats–various cats getting picked up in the kitchen, walked into my bedroom, and locked in there because of their bad manners. Cats do not belong on the table, especially during dinner. Elly barked and got sent to her bed in the kitchen. Life was normal and full of love. And I was happy.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Charlies Grand Adventure, Oh My! And Friends.”

  1. Dear, dear Robine, This was one of the most heartfelt, outpouring of yourself, blog posts of yours ever. I so enjoyed it. Made me feel like I was sitting next to you listening and holding your hand. You are very special and important to me, even though we see each other so rarely. Yet, you always fill me up with joy and hope. I’m so happy to hear that you are continuing your exercises, as am I, even when it’s difficult to find the energy or ambition to do so. I think possibly your multiple illnesses are a sign that your body is craving change, which you are providing. The body needs time to “detoxify” and this often happens in the form of illnesses. Stay on your course, and your body will respond with vibrant good health. I am forwarding you the Alta Vista Gardens newsletter. There might be one or two activities that I thought perhaps we could share together, when you are feeling well enough. At the end of the month, Pete’s (exhusband) youngest brother is coming to visit from Wisconsin. They haven’t seen each other in 20+ years. On the same day Little League begins, and both grandsons are participating this year. The little one, Sam, just turns 4 on opening day ceremonies. He will be the youngest child in Little League this year. It marks the beginning of three very, very busy months for our family with multiple games and practices each week. I do miss you and love reading about all your adventures. Poor Charlie. He must have been so frightened and feeling abandoned. So happy he is safe and sound. Much love, Marianne

Leave a Reply

