Oil Painting Lesson Number 3

On saturday, had lesson number 3 in oil painting. Still doing the single color paintings, today a green still life focusing on a glass vase and an orange. Clear glass and water are very hard. There are so many shadows and brights.

20150201-123429.jpg

20150201-123438.jpg

20150201-123447.jpg
But next week, I get to start using colors. That is, if I get my three exercise sessions done. But that will probably happen, there is a lot of support at home and at work. Everyone knows that I am rewarding myself with art lessons for exercise. Twice a week, I go to the gym with a couple co-workers. Bob goes on walks with me. And monday, Bob and I begin sailing lessons which will also count. Yep, even the classroom portion counts since I am learning something that can be used for exercise. Lets hear it for 2015 — the year where I try to balance fun, work, and exercise at the same time.

Author: robinesworld

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

4 thoughts on “Oil Painting Lesson Number 3”

  1. Good for you! It sounds like a win-win: a non-food reward for exercise, and lessons in something fun! Now me, I’d be wanting to learn how to paint a chocolate cake.

    1. Yep, painting a chocolate cake sounds like fun. Or how about those beautiful egg dye stained glass cookies? I’ve never done that and they look beautiful. But I do have some books teaching one how to turn a tray of cupcakes into paintings.

Leave a Reply

