The power of pictures

Over the last few days, I have been graced with a couple of great photos. One of the wonders of this modern technology is how easy it is to share a story, a moment, or a sight that inspires awe. One of the first great photos came from my mom. She used her cell phone to capture a moment from Maggie and Josh’s last visit. The composition and color are great showing off the glory of a beautiful day at brindejon farm. The shadows and the barn roof direct your eye down the action in the center; where the story is being told. In a glance, you can see that my Dad, Maggie, and Josh have been joyriding, driving around the farm for the sheer joy of movement. Of course there is the added benefit of being in a beautiful place, on vacation, and with people you enjoy, but the main attraction is illicit feeling of freedom on their mule. Everyone in the picture looks happy and it obvious there was lots of laughter.

20150125-084023.jpg

20150125-084032.jpg

The second photo is very different–no people. The image of a single Joshua Tree standing proudly in a stark landscape with a beautiful blue sky. A perfect day in the desert, a photo taken by a visiting frenchman. Charles sent us this photo as an expression of his awe and appreciation for the beauty of this national park. A friend of a friend of a distant cousin (by marriage) he ended up at our house as part of three month trip to the United States. After spending a few days with us, he rented a car and went to see the desert, something not found in France. And he was impressed. As he should be, Joshua Tree is one of nicer national parks we have. Fantastic scenery, I want to go back there.

20150125-090032.jpg

The next picture is simple snap, taken this morning. Elly is relaxing with her paw resting on a bone. This bone was a treat we bought her last night. Instead of taking the kids to the icecream shop, we take Elly to the pet food store and buy her a bone. When she got it last night, her attitude was almost reverential. Very gently, no chance of screwing up this treat. She took it outside and spent a very happy hour chewing it while laying on cold concrete in the dark. Elly likes lying on cold concrete, she didn’t want to come inside. We took the treat from her at the end of the evening, I draw the line at dogs bringing bones into my bed. And we returned the bone to her this morning. Result–the photo you see. Elly doesn’t want to let that bone go.

20150125-090905.jpg

Each of these photos tells a story that makes me happy. And its so easy and quick to see these pictures. I remember the days when we would take a picture, save up some money, and then go get the pictures printed. Each copy of a picture was precious, costing money and time to create. Now, I can a take a picture, edit it, and share it with many people in less than five minutes. Sometimes technology is truly amazing.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a comment