Clothing Emergency

It has been an interesting afternoon. This Friday, I am attending a traditional japanese hawaiian american funeral; whatever that means. Rumor says there is a ceremony, a lunch, a wake, and more. It will be an adventure. And it starts early with me picking up my parents at LAX at 8 am. So until about 3 pm this afternoon, I thought that meant dressing in all black and formal. I had a black skirt, blouse, and jacket all picked out. But no, about 3 pm my Mom calls with new instructions — Hawaiian Clothes. What, yep, that is right; no black allowed. They want bright colorful hawaiian shirts or dresses. OH NO! I don’t have anything to wear.

Luckily there is a great hawaiian shop in Escondido. But no one answered the phone, so I declared a clothing emergency at work and left early. The website for the Wave Shoppe indicated they didn’t have much in stock and it was accurate. But they will have a great selection of dresses in early march. And they did have fabric, so I bought enough to make two skirts. Considered a co-worker’s suggestion to check out the second hand stores, but decided it was quicker to sew up a skirt. Second stop at the local fabric store to buy elastic and thread; ended up with a lot more fabric for skirts and dresses.

Came home to total chaos. Cats, dogs, kids, and dinner preparations were big distractions. Put my pile of fabric on the table and considered what to sew. Too many options and I was tired. Decided to check out the closet once more. Three possible dresses, only one was even somewhat suitable. And Kate pointed out that it was so old it was literally falling apart. Checked out the one extant hawaiian dress in my closet–giant white paint spot on the front and several other paint spots. I had worn it one day doing art and as always ended up a mess. Not suitable but yet the only really good option unless I spent the night sewing. Kate had the best suggestion “Use a sharpie”. It worked. I spent the next half hour coloring spots on my dress. Clothing emergency resolved! Now it is sitting very carefully in a drawer. Don’t want to get any water on this dress until after the funeral.

Then Bob fed me dinner. Amazing how a good meal and the opportunity to spend some time writing makes for a relaxing evening. And then later this weekend, perhaps I will sew up some of the skirts with material purchased today. In the end, this was a great evening.
http://www.waveshoppe.com/

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

