No more selfies and other stuff

Last night I learned from Kate why there would be no more selfies. She recently got a new galaxay s4 samsung smart phone. And since the camera is too good, Kate can’t take any selfies unless the make-up is packed on and perfect.

The older kids are gone. On Sunday, Bob and I dropped Liz off at the airport. On Wednesday, I dropped Maggie off at the airport. Now its back to the half daughter with Kate spending half her time at our house and half her time at Grandmothers house. So Bob and I are feeling a bit lonely. To counter that we are going take sailing lessons starting at the beginning of February. I am looking forward to this new activity.

I started oil painting lessons last week. Made the mistake of telling Bob that I planned on taking lessons any week where I have three exercise sessions. Now I will have to be honest. Oh well, was successful in meeting my goal, so will have another art lesson on saturday.

Kate has a 4 day weekend next week. I am jealous. And on top of that, she had the gaul to say “What, you just had two weeks of vacation, wasn’t that enough”. No it was not enough and it was not two full weeks and that’s not even the point. She gets a break after less than two weeks of work. I don’t get a break until May. And this year, I don’t even get a holiday for the 4th of July since it falls on a weekend. Oh well, someday she will understand.

This morning Charlie was sleeping in the middle of Elly’s bed. A big giant dog bed with a warm blanket, one small cat curled in the middle. So Elly responded by sleeping on my bed. There is nothing she loves more than using my pillows and curling under the blankets.

We nailed it on birthday presents for Maggie. A portable battery charger. A power strip with a couple of USB ports. A set of rgb led lights. And a spirograph with colored pens. Perfect presents for turning 25. It’s hard to believe that I have a daughter who is a quarter century old. I don’t feel old enough to have a daughter that old. But she’s turned out great and we had lots of fun with her and her friend Josh over the last couple of weeks. We also had a lot of fun with Liz. Liz had turned 21 last december. She got almost the same set of birthday presents as Maggie. And so while the kids were visiting, we got the chance to take them out to Mother Earth and Fifty Barrels. It’s nice to be able to take kids out for fun and NOT have to be the meany.

Since all three girls were together, they obeyed their mothers mandate and had a picture taken of all three of them. It was one of my best christmas presents. The only better present were the new earbuds from Bob which gives me music again with my IPOD. Anyway, the animals helped make this picture special.

20150109-072546.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “No more selfies and other stuff”

Leave a Reply

