Fall Colors, a simple photograph

This is a simple composition–a leg, some leaves, and bits of hands. But I love the colors and contrast, they remind me of the winter season colors. Took this picture at the Empire State Mine during Thanksgiving weekend. We had gone to visit my parents, Liz had flown in for two days from New Mexico. Flying on Thanksgiving and Saturday following turned out to be OK experiences, those days were not as crowded. Now it is the Sunday after New Years Eve and we are about to again take her to airport and she again will be departing for New Mexico. I don’t want her to leave, that means vacation is over. We had lots of fun as a family.

20150104-065407.jpg
Being able to take your kids out is one of the joys of getting older. Since they are adults, I don’t have to be a big meanie and say no to everything. In fact I can corrupt the kids with bad habits. Last night we corrupted Liz and took her out for a glass of wine before a family dinner at Grandma’s house. Yes they carded her at 50 barrels in downtown Vista; but that is part of the fun when you have been a legal drinker for only one month. And thus I was able to get a nice photo of Liz, her dad, and Elly. The picture of the old pepper tree was a bonus, the lighting is good.

20150104-065351.jpg

20150104-065358.jpg
So what does this have to do with the daily prompt: First!

Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

Everything. It is the last day of vacation and that means the first day of work for the new year begins tomorrow. So I have an obligation to smile, wish Liz best of luck on beginning her new year of life and work, and then go on to do the same. Think we will visit the Zoo as a celebration of the last day of vacation. Might even get a chance to see the parrots flying since we will be there early.
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/first/

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

