Happy Very Belated 21 Birthday Liz

Maggie again put me to shame with her birthday post. Dang. It’s been a busy week. But motherly duty calls and I enjoy writing a birthday post for my daughters. So here it is.

Liz–Happy 21st birthday. Welcome to the real adult world where you can engage in almost every activity. And since you graduate from college next fall, you even get emancipated with the FAFSA form. Yep, that is correct, my income will no longer determine if you are eligible for assistance from college. But that’s only because you will be graduating. Otherwise you would still be shackled to your dad and I according to the rules made by congress. And in honor of your birthday, I have a collection of photos and stories for you.

The first picture shows you reading in our kitchen from last summer. I am including this picture because I like the composition. Someday if I get skilled enough and if I get enough time, I might do this as a painting.

20141210-074812.jpg

The second photo was a good day at your grandparents house. We all were laughing. Your dad can be such a ham at times, but it does make for great photos. Sometimes I wish I could be as loose as him.

20141210-075107.jpg

Dog beach in Del Mar. What is there to not like about this. Wonderful beautiful beach surroundings, great sand, hundreds of happy dogs, water, and dirt. Elly comes home a complete mess. After this trip where she learned to swim, we stopped at a taco shop in Encinitas. Elly barfed on the ground outside the shop — the result of drinking too much salt water.

20141210-075223.jpg

The next two pictures were from a magical trip to Point Loma, Cabrillo National Monument. Bittersweet trip, we were taking you down to the airport and left early because we were worried about traffic. Turns out that we had no problems and thus had several hours to wait. Decided to visit the national monument where the guy was really nice and let us into the park for free. We got there for the last 15 minutes of the gift shop and in time for a wonderful sunset. More than wonderful, it was one of the best sunsets I have ever seen in my life, the colors were intense. After watching the sun go down, we went and had bad chinese or mexican food from a shopping center on rosecrans. I Hremember how cold it was, we were both bundled up in scarves and hungry.

Work calls,I am running out of time so the stories for the last few photos will have to come later.   Basically these photos make me smile..  Happy Belated Birthday.  I love you.

image image image image

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

