The joy of blogging almost daily

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Winning Streak.”

Winning Streak
What’s the longest stretch you’ve ever pulled off of posting daily to your blog? What did you learn about blogging through that achievement, and what made you break the streak?

I have been blogging for the last few years — usually one post every day or two.  Photos, short stories, links, whatever seems interesting to me gets posted.  And I have found joy in the very process of writing.  By blogging, I get to practice telling stories in short small segments.  Fun little things that allow me to conneect with my daughters.  The best response is when one of the kids away at college makes a comment about the blog post; I know I succeded as a writer.

And now even more amazing, I find that other people like writing these blog posts.  Wow!  I never thought of myself as a write while growing up.  And I never had to write while in school.  Being a math/science nerdy geek meant that writing was given a pass at school.  Biggest essay in college was 3 pages about John Muir and I got an A for that paper.  Plus an “excellent” comment from the teacher.

Then I got into grad school.  First class, the teacher said he was going easy on us–2 ten page essays and 1 twenty page paper.  And per other students that was easy.  But I couldn’t do it.  I remember being in tears at the professors office the day before it was due explaining I didn’t know how to write the paper.  He gave me a couple more days.  And another student showed me some tricks, basically breaking a techincal paper into parts.  Introduction, background, research  plan, results, conculsions were needed, each part at least 1 paragraph.  Those three papers got written and I passed the class.  More classes, more writing, and we jump ahead 25 years.

Now I write for a living.   Technically my job title is “Software Engineer Level 5″ tasked with software requirements.  Basically my job is translating pretty picture diagrams of things like engine drawings into something a coder (that is someone who writes code) can understand.  For example: ” When the driver of a car pushes the gas pedal, the car shall move faster” or ” The software shall turn on heaters based on the figure XYZ showing altitude versus temperature bars”

But there is a lot more writing than just those statements.  Descriptive text.  How-to instructions of other co-workers.  Technical descriptions on how the system should work.  Process documentation.  Justifications for decisions made.  Endless amount of writing on things that must be accurate.  Very boring writing, thank goodness someone else has to read my stuff.  I find it a lot more fun to do the writing.

But the writing bug has taken hold and I find a need to write more.  Sewing books (unpublished), short stories (unpublished), novels (unfinished), and blog posts all fulfill an urge to write.  Blog posts have proven to be very rewarding.

Because I primarily write for family in a very broad sense, it makes me happy to post blogs.  And it lets me practice writing skills.  The discipline of writing fifteen minutes or an hour in the morning is very good for developing storying telling skills.  And that becomes a need after a while.

NABLOPOMO was a disappointment.  I don’t like the format for this forum.  Too many posts on one page plus a hard to use posting tool meant that I posted on my blog and occasionally do the daily prompts.  But I am not taking credit at that site.  It just did not seem worth the effort.

The Daily posts are lots of fun.  Small short problems or statements which are intellectually challenging.  A good focus for practicing writing skills.  And some great responses from other authors allow for growth as I compare their responses to mine.  I learn from these posts.  And they can help me break a non-writing streak by providing that focused challenge.

What makes me stop posting for a few days — Life.  Work, too much fun, exhaustion; you can name the excuse.  But what keeps me posting on a regular basis is family and friends.   I like knowing people get enjoyment from my posts. Thank you to everyone who reads my writing.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

