Bad while being Good

That’s me, being bad and good a the same time. Bad for not swimming and good for writing. But the moon and night sky was so spectacular: the full lunar eclipse which meant a blood red moon and a meteor shower at the same time. Inspiring. But the cats didn’t think so as evidenced by their constant motion and nervous energy. Elle barked and growled at shadows. Guess it makes sense, these animals are very aware of their environments and the moon light was not normal.
Last week I started physical therapy for both a knee and an ankle. Everything went akimbo in my body — sprain the right knee, start limping, and then sprain the left ankle. Start limping a different way and repeat the process. Its been bad for the last month. Even went onto crutches for a few days which helped the ankle but hurt the knee. Learned to be bold when explaining what happened. Use only two words “Bar Fight”. Much better story than the truth and everyone laughs.
Last saturday, met friends at a beading class and got inspiration. Not only are some wonderful necklaces and earring being made, but I got inspiration for a tree lamp statue using singletons. This combines my love of pretty things, my interest in electronics, and my passion for making big messy projects. The lamps will need several hundred wire coat hangers, at least a dozen milk jugs, hundreds of LED’s, and a lot of abandoned single earrings. Lots of fun, I’ll be able to create a mess that lasts for months with this project. As a follow up from the class, one of my friends from the beading class had a present for me on Monday. She made me a really nice necklace for holding my badge. It has silver beads, garnets, and lots of pretty sparklies. I was touched, it has been a long time since I’ve gotten a surprise just because present.
For the last month, actually since returning from vacation; I’ve been in a funk about work. I am tired of doing the same thing for years. Its a good job, full of challenges, pays well, and yet I am bored. Add in a sense of being unworthy and underqualified, after all I don’t have the degrees that are listed on the job reqs, so by definition I am not qualified for anything even my own job. And yet I know that is not true; I am very good at my job. Turns out that talking with other senior engineers, many people feel that way. After all, the best engineers are people who solve problems. And by definition if your doing the same job for years, then your not solving problems. So the problem is how to change my job, something I can solve. And with some creativity, for example, my company may be hiring a couple thousand engineers next spring in Melbourne, Florida…..so there are even good daydreaming opportunities. Just what I need as I leave for work…..

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

One thought on “Bad while being Good”

  1. Hope you will have a speedy recovery. If you would like to come over here to swim, our pool closes at 9 p.m. It is solar heated and so far has been quite pleasant.

Leave a Reply

