Writing Assignemnt

Hi all, the first class assignment for one of my two classes that started yesterday was writing 20 minutes stream of consciousness. And the post it. Here’s the class homework.

Damm, I am already behind. Can I drop this class? It is only tuesday, the second day of the class and I am three writing assignments behind. Plus another class. I knew it was insanity to take two classes while working full time. What I didn’t plan on was having an extreme heat storm and lots of extra work duties. So many work duties that next week I will probably volunteer for the extra overtime before it becomes mandatory. Earn a thousand dollars and get brownie points at work versus an extra couple of weekends. Tough choice, the time is hard to replace. And how am I going to get time to do the blogging.

Speaking of heat, a co-worker heard me talking with Bob about rain. I was incredulous, it was hot and sunny in 4S ranch. Someone else had just measured the temperature from their car at 105 degrees. But Bob told me it was raining and the co-worker verified as I found out later. He stopped by to tell me that there was a rain cloud positioned over San Marcos and Vista. I think he wanted it to rain locally as a possible way of lowering the outside temperature. But it didn’t and he was happy to concur that humidity when the rain stopped and sun resumed would be awful. It was. I came home to a hot wet driveway later in the evening.

Speaking of coming home. Elly was waiting for me. In fact she walked in front of the car as I was coming down the steep driveway. Stopped and asked for help. Bob came and let her into the front seat. For the last month or so, Elly has been coming outside to meet me. What she loves to do is hope in the car for a ride during the last 20 to 100 feet of driveway. So tonight she got about 5 feet of driveway, but it was air-conditioned. And she got a few pets from me. Tradition was satisfied. So after hoping out of the car, she went into the backyard under the illusion that it was cooler outside. Maybe a degree or two, but not much more than that. You have to understand that is not normal behavior. She generally wants to come into the kitchen and ensure that I don’t give the cats too much attentions.

The guidelines for this exercise say 20 minutes of stream of conciousness, but it’s only been 10 minutes. Should I cheat on the exercise or keep writing> Anyone who knows me knows that I will keep writing. I am too honest for my own good. But tonight I’m tempted to cheat…..so what next?

Time for a bit more whiskey. As some of you may know, we recently visited scotland. One of the must do things I wanted to try was whiskey tasting. But it didn’t quite work out that way. We did one whiskey tasting in Edinburgh at a pub. But it wasn’t the same as visiting a brewery, no a distillery, and tasting whiskey after a tour. We didn’t get the chance to do that. Bought my dad some wonderful expensive whiskey; but didn’t get myself anything.

So I’ve been trying whiskeys since returning home. Have bought three different bottles, two good ones including a bottle from Oban, and one cheap one from trader joes. Now by cheap whiskey, I mean the trader joes single malt high quality whiskey where we don’t know the origin. That is different from the rot-gut cheap blended whiskeys. Oban was great because we got to visit the town and I had a lot of fun that day. But I think I like the cheap whiskey best. I like the burn as it goes down the throat. Smooth whiskeys, ones that don’t have that burn, are too easy to drink.That’s good for Bob, I am a cheap date.

ONly have a couple minutes before this writing assignment is done. So I am going to talk about heat measurements based on cat length. For the last few days, it has been three cats at plus four feet in length. That means really really hot. Sophia is the hold out, she likes hot weather. And normal cat stretching is about 3 feet in length. A cat who measures 3.5 feet sleeping indicates the weather is hotter than normal, good for cat stretching. When the cats are sleeping in curled up balls, that means the temperature is ok, probably somewhere in the 70’s or 60’s if it seems cold. Below 60 degrees and you start seeing cats sleeping next to other animals — cats, dogs, or humans. And if the cats are sleeping under blankets, then it is COLD. Of course Sophia is the exception, she always wants to sleep with me. If it is cold, I am her heater. And if it is hot, I am her cooling device. UGHH!!!!! I HATE HOT CATS WHEN IT IS 95 DEGREES WITH 90 PERCENT HUMIDITY.

YES! THE 20 minute writing assignment is over. Onto the next homework assignment.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

