Take Your Parents to Work Day

In an ironic twist of fate, Bob and I signed up for the “Take your parents to work day” AKA Family Day at Sandia National Labs. The invitation came from Liz who is pleased to show off her work place. Plus she knows I’ve always thought the national engineering research labs would be a great place to work. The irony comes from the fact that Liz has visited three different engineering firms ( BAE Systems, Northrop, and Raytheon) as a child attending “Take your child to work” events.
In other news, everyone survived their first week back at work. Kate started her last year of school on Monday. She’s a senior now; only 8 more months of mandatory school for her. She’s not happy; but it’s a hard schedule with all honors classes. For a kid that says she HATES science, the class selection is puzzling—calculus, physics, environmental science, economics, English, and being a teaching assistant for a chemistry teacher. My mother in law, Mary, has gotten a job working at the local elementary school as a kindergarten noon duty. Two hours a day and she loves it. And Bob had his first teaching gig in the classroom with robotics. That
is going to be a hard assignment, the kids all have attitudes.
I’ve been home for a week and immediately returned to work. Very depressing; the same problems I had left still were there waiting for me. Plus a few extras. Good for job security; not so great for the soul. But I will also be teaching at the sculpture academy and that should be fun. This weekend I’ll start working on my classes for the fall semester. As I may have mentioned, I am teaching artists how to add electronics, lights, robots, and motion into their artwork. It’s an interesting to teach these people how to build, use, and program computers without using any of the scary technical words. We build things and I show them how to modify a basic design. So far; lots of enthusiasm from the artists. Big challenge for me since I’m redesigning the education process. This weekend, I’m going to pull together a project teaching them how to set up a simple lighting circuit for the September class. In future classes; we will add a computer that lets the artist control the lights. Another class will focus on using sensors to make things happen like turning on electronic sounds or lights. Final class in December will be building an interactive light display. I THINK. We will see what reality is after getting those lesson plans finished.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

