Home from Vacation — What’s Next?

Walking into work after a vacation is always hard. Walking into work almost two months of vacation felt like a prison sentence until I entered the first door and heard the first hello of the day. My coworkers were all glad to see me; there were many warm greetings during the day. Even got assigned decent tasks, not just the left over scutwork often given to those not present at key meetings. It made me very happy to return. It is a pleasure to be wanted.
So the long planned trip is now over. Hard to believe, I’m not sure what the best part was although I think it involves food: baguettes hot from the oven, ripe tomatoes in all colors bursting with flavor; incredible whiskey tastings, steak and ale pies, lentil soup, and lamb chops. Meals with family filled with conversation and laughter. We did things separately and then met over food. Thats not a bad way to live.
And now the next chapter begins. Kate will be a senior in high school. Liz is a senior in college. And Maggie will be finishing her masters degree this year; so there are three graduation ceremonies coming next spring. Both Bob and I will be teaching electronics and robotics to non-technical students. Bob will be working with high school kids associated with the juvenile hall schools in San Diego and I’ll be working with artists. Both of us will need to be adaptable, flexible, and willing to try lots of different things because the classical scientific hard class approach will NOT work with these audiences. They want to learn, but have a different viewpoint and education style than the typical NERD. And ordinary life will continue — work, art, family, house, pets, bills, and other standard aspects of life.
The blogs will continue also. This one, RobinesWorld, will cover the small things in life that make me happy. The plan is to publish a short post every day or so. This forces me to keep writing every day and helps me focus on how good things are. This blog is lots of fun to write.
My other blog, Dragon Cat Lives, will have the longer photo essays based on events in Europe. My goal is to post at least one story a week, but focus on writing, editing, photo selection, and photo processing. Put a lot more work into polishing the stories. For this blog in particular; I want feedback and critiques. Is the writing good or does it need something more? Do the photos work with the text? Are the stories interesting? What can I do to make them better?

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

